Master's Programme in Security and Cloud Computing (SECCLO)

Curriculum 2020–2022

AALTO SECCLO Programme structure

Common 1st year, 60 ECTS

  • Security and Cloud Computing, Aalto University Finland 50 ECTS
  • Summer school 5 ECTS
  • Internship 5 ECTS

Specialisation 2nd year,

30 ECTS + 30 ECTS

  • Communications systems, KTH Sweden, 30 ECTS
  • Information Security, NTNU Norway, 30 ECTS
  • Reliable Distributed Systems, DTU Denmark, 30 ECTS
  • Cryptography, UT Estonia, 30 ECTS
  • Big Data Security, EURECOM France, 30 ECTS
  • Jointly Supervised Master's thesis, 30 ECTS

First-year studies

The first year of the program (60 ECTS) covers fundamental concepts, methods and the latest technologies on secure systems engineering, distributed application development, network and service architectures, ubiquitous computing, and cloud and mobile computing platforms. Students are also able to choose specialized courses on topics such as network and mobile platform security, computer networking, verification, and data mining. The teaching methods combine theory with hands-on exercises and software development on cloud platforms and mobile devices. Students also practice writing and presentation skills and learn to follow the latest research. The 60 ECTS of the first year comprises 28 ECTS of mandatory courses, 22-25 ECTS of elective courses, and 7-10 ECTS of summers school and internship.

The mandatory courses are listed below. Students who have studied similar content at another university should contact the program staff to discuss their personal study plan.

Feedback about the page

  • Published:
  • Updated: