International Joint Degree Programmes

Aalto University offers international joint degree programmes that have separate application periods and admission procedures than the rest of the Master's Programmes offered by Aalto University.
Aalto University students at Learning Centre

What is a joint degree, or double degree, programme?

An international joint degree is an education programme, organised jointly by two or more higher education institutions that belong to the countries’ official education system and that leads to a higher education degree.

Double degree programmes are two-year Master’s programmes, where you study at two universities and graduate from both. You can study, for example, one year at a European partner university and the other at Aalto, and graduate with two Master of Science degrees. The Master’s thesis is submitted jointly at both universities. The majority of the programmes offer scholarships for all nationalities.

In other words: you get two degree certificates, international experience and possibly some extra financial support in one package and with one degree’s workload.

The application periods for these programmes usually take place earlier than the application period for the other Master’s programmes at Aalto – some of them have application deadlines as early as in November of the year prior to admission.

A Bachelor’s degree from relevant field is a general admission criterion, but students on their final year of Bachelor studies can apply if the degree will be completed by the end of July of the admission year.

Aalto University has double degree agreements with universities in over ten European countries. There are also programmes that offer a possibility to obtain a double degree without the compulsory mobility to a partner university. In a few programmes it is also possible to graduate or write the Master’s thesis at a partner institution outside Europe. Please read more about the programmes offered in your field below.

Tuition fees and scholarships

In Finland, there are tuition fees for students who are not citizens of the member states of the European Union (EU), European Economic Area (EEA), or Switzerland. International joint degree programmes have their own tuition fees and scholarship schemes, please read more on the programmes' web pages.

In the international joint degree programmes that have a programme fee, the student pays the annual fee to the programme consortium regardless of the university where s/he studies at.

Students, who study in international joint degree programmes that do not have programme fees, will pay tuition fees in accordance with Aalto University's tuition fee policy. Aalto University's tuition fee will be charged during the semesters the student studies at Aalto. A tuition fee waiver from Aalto University is given during the semesters the student studies at other partner universities within the programme consortium. This policy applies to the Nordic Master programmes.

Information about tuition fees and scholarships at Aalto University is available at Tuition Fees and Scholarships.

Nordic Master Programmes

Aalto University participates in the Nordic Five Tech (N5T) alliance. N5T is a strategic alliance of the five leading technical universities in Sweden, Denmark, Norway and Finland: Chalmers University of Technology; KTH Royal Institute of Technology; Technical University of Denmark; Norwegian University of Science and Technology; and Aalto University.

Through the joint Nordic Master Programmes students have the opportunity to pursue their specific academic interests in areas where the Nordic Five Tech universities have a strong capacity, expertise, and long standing tradition within research and education. These programmes are taught completely in English.

The application has to be made to the university which is responsible for the specific programme. The application process and deadlines may vary for the different programmes. Make sure that you read carefully the information specified on each programme description.

Please find information on the application process and deadlines on the programme web pages:

Erasmus Mundus Programme

The Erasmus Mundus programme is a co-operation and mobility programme which promotes the European Union as a centre of excellence in learning around the world. It supports European top-quality Master's programmes and provides EU-funded scholarships for third country nationals participating in these programmes.

Information on the application process and deadlines are on the programme web pages:

Advanced Materials for Innovation and Sustainability

Master's Programme in Advanced Materials for Innovation and Sustainability, AMIS (EIT Raw Materials) is a programme organised in co-operation with Grenoble Institut Polytechnique (France), Technische Universität Darmstadt (Germany), University of Bordeaux (France), University of Liege (Belgium) and Aalto University.

The programme and the application process is coordinated by Grenoble Institut Polytechnique. The programme has a proramme fee. For more information, please see the programme website.

Environomical Pathways for Sustainable Energy Systems

Master's Programme in Environomical Pathways for Sustainable Energy Systems (SELECT) is organised in co-operation with the Royal Institute of Technology in Sweden (KTH), Politecnico di Torino (PoliTo), Eindhoven University of Technology in the Netherlands (TUE), Technical University of Catalonia in Spain (UPC), Instituto Superior Técnico in Portugal (IST), AGH University of Science and Technology in Poland (AGH), and Aalto University. SELECT is part of the InnoEnergy Sustainable Energy master school. The two-year Master's programme includes compulsory mobility for the students.

European Mining, Minerals and Environmental Program

European Mining, Minerals and Environmental Program (EMMEP) is a master's degree programme organised in international cooperation between three of Europe's leading universities in mining and resource engineering: Delft University of Technology (Netherlands), Aalto University (Finland) and RWTH Aachen University (Germany). During the two-year master's programme, students study together in three different universities.

EMMEP and admission to the program is coordinated by TU Delft.

EIT Digital Master School

Master’s Programme in ICT Innovation (EIT Digital Master School) is a two-year programme in which you can choose two universities in two different European countries, building a curriculum of technical courses combined with innovation and entrepreneurship studies. Aalto University offers five majors in the programme, in cooperation with a dozen other high quality technical universities in Europe. Scholarships are available to all nationalities.

EIT Urban Mobility

Other double degree possibilities

School of Business

Aalto University School of Business has double degree agreements with:

  • University of Queensland Business School, Australia (for Management and International Business students)
  • University of South Carolina - Darla Moore School of Business, USA (for Management and International Business students)
  • ESADE Business School, Spain (for IDBM students)
  • University of Cologne, Germany (for students of Finance, Marketing or Information and Service Management)

Applicants need to first apply and be admitted in the Master's admissions to the School of Business. Master's students of Aalto University School of Business can apply in the separate double degree admissions during their first year of studies. Please note that the double degree agreements are programme-specific.

  • Published:
  • Updated:
URL copied!