Research & Art

Completed ERC projects

The European Research Council (ERC) funding is awarded to leading researchers for pioneering work at the frontiers of science.

ERC Advanced Grant funding

Professor Antero Arkkio: "Additional losses in electrical machines", 2014 - 2019

Academician of Science, professor Riitta Hari: "Towards two-person neuroscience", 2009-2014

Professor Olli Ikkala: "Biomimetics for Functions and Responses", 2012 -2017

Professor Maarit Karppinen: "Molecular-Layer-Engineered Inorganic-Organic Hybrid Materials", 2014 -2019

  • (ERC PoC): "Transparent and Flexible Li-Organic 3D Thin-Film Microbattery", 2017-2018
  • (ERC PoC): "Novel Thermoelectric Energy Solutions based on Flexible Thin-Film Material", 2016 - 2017

Academy professor Päivi Törmä: "Condensation in designed systems", 2013-2018

  • (ERC PoC): Low cost coherent light sources from nanoparticle array surface plasmon polariton systems

ERC Consolidator Grant funding

Professor Emma Master: "Bio-derived HIgh Value polymers through novel Enzyme function", 2015-2020

Professor Mika Sillanpää: "Cavity quantum phonon dynamics", 2015-2020

ERC Starting Grant funding

Professor Sebastiaan van Dijken: "Electric-Field Control of Magnetic Domain Wall Motion and Fast Magnetic Switching: Magnetoelectrics at Micro, Nano, and Atomic Length Scales", 2012 - 2017

  • (ERC PoC): "Electric-field driven magnetic domain wall motion for memory technologies", 2015 - 2016
  • (ERC PoC): "Low-power spin-wave-based computing", 2018 - 2019

Professor Petteri Kaski: "Theory and Practice of Advanced Search and Enumeration", 2014 -2019

Academy Professor Peter Liljeroth: "Atomically precise nanoelectronic materials", 2012 - 2017

Professor Tapio Lokki: "Physically-based Virtual Acoustics", 2008 - 2013

Professor Mikko Möttönen: "Single-Photon Microwave Devices": era of quantum optics outside cavities, 2012 - 2016

  • (ERC PoC): "Self-calibrating nanobolometer based on superconductor-normal-metal hybrids", 2016 - 2018

Professor Lauri Nummenmaa: "Fitting The World to Minds: Brain Basis of Sharing and Transmitting Representations of the Social World", 2013 - 2018

Researcher, Jani Oksanen: "In-cavity thermophotonic cooling", 2015 - 2021

  • (ERC-PoC): "Resistance-free charge spreading for LEDs and solar cells", 2019-2020

Professor Antti Oulasvirta: "Computational User Interface Design", 2015-2020

Professor Ville Pulkki: "Technologies and Psychophysics of Spatial Sound", 2009 -2014

Professor Hele Savin: "Riddle of light induced degradation in silicon photovoltaics", 2013 - 2017

Professor Mika Sillanpää: "Electromechanical quantum coherent systems", 2010 - 2014

Professor Marko Terviö: "Talent and Learning in Imperfect Markets", 2009 - 2015

  • Published:
  • Updated:
URL copied!