ELO Film wins Best Student Film at the Love & Anarchy Shorts Helsinki International Film Festival

This article was updated on 25.09.2023. This year, the film Prelude (Murtuma, 2023) from ELO Film School wins Best Student Film at the Love & Anarchy Shorts Helsinki International Film Festival. Seven student films from ELO Film School were also nominated for the prize.
Boy standing smiling
Still from Prelude, 2023

Prelude (Murtuma, 2023) by Arman Zafari wins Best Student Film at the R&A Shorts National Competition. The jury thanks the film for its perspective on school bullying through the lens of the bully's parents, who tackles with the thought of their own child being capable of a violent act.

The winners of the competition were selected by the jury: director Emilia Hernesniemi (ELO alumn), actor-screenwriter Eeva Putro and director Mazdak Nassir (ELO alumn). The best short film won the Aurora Award, a cash prize worth 2000€.

Out of the thirty three films that were selected for the R&A Shorts National Competition, seven of them come from ELO Film School. The films range from documentary to animation and fiction. The festival ran through September 24.

The official selection for R&A Shorts National competition:

Leikkejä Eläville (In the Midst of Chaos There was Shape), 2023, documentary, dir. Saarlotta Virri

Missä valo hajoaa sirpaleiksi (Where the Light Breaks into Shards), 2023, documentary, dir. Siiri Vaara, BA film

Kuinka huolehtia undulaateista (How to Take Care of Your Parakeet), 2023, fiction, dir. Roosa Vuokkola, BA film

Jäähyväiset sanoille (Goodbye Words), 2023, documentary, dir. Laura Rantanen

Mammutti (Mammoth), 2023, fiction, dir. Inga Pohjolainen, MA film

Murtuma (Prelude), 2023, fiction, dir. Arman Zafari, BA film

Muut Ihmiset (Other People), animation/documentary, dir. Anni Sairio & Joonatan Turkki, MA film

Congratulations to the winner and the nominees!

For more on the festival:

*This article was updated to reflect the winner on 25.09.2023.

  • Published:
  • Updated:

Read more news

A group of people walking along the linden alley in summer
Research & Art, University Published:

Strong overall result: 27.5 million euros from the Research Council of Finland

A total of 52 Aalto researchers received Academy Research Fellowship and Academy Project funding. The total funding awarded to Aalto University amounts to 27.5 million euros
Aalto Space mockup ravintolatarjonnasta
Campus, University Published:

Restaurants added to the Aalto Space - test and win!

See if you can find the campus restaurants in Aalto Space and win summerish prizes.
Aalto University Junior technology workshop
Cooperation, Research & Art, University Published:

Automation Foundation donates to Aalto University Junior

Automation Foundation donates to Aalto University Junior. A donation of twenty thousand euros has been targeted at the purchase of virtual glasses and the renewal of robotics.
Woman in red dress leans against a light wall with windows
Appointments, University Published:

Professor Maarit Salolainen: ‘Multidisciplinary cooperation is the key to solving sustainability issues in the textile field’

Professor of Textile Design Maarit Salolainen wants to see closer cooperation not only between research in different fields but also between the university, the industry and resellers to bring about change.