Action! project awarded at Screen Helsinki event

Aalto University's Action! project, which promotes equality and employment of female professionals in the audiovisual sector, was awarded at Screen Helsinki on 31 August 2022.
Action!-hankkeen Raija Talvio ja Kirsi Reinola vastaanottavat Soihdunkantaja-palkinnon. Kuva: Miikka Varila / APFI Kuva: Miikka Varila / APFI
Raija Talvio and Kirsi Reinola. Photo: Miikka Varila / APFI

The Audiovisual Authors Association AVATE presented the Torchbearer Award to Aalto University's Action! project at the Screen Helsinki event on 31st of August 2022. The award was received by Kirsi Reinola, Project Manager of the Action! project and Professor Raija Talvio from Aalto University's Film School ELO.

AVATE states: "We would like to recognise a courageous pioneer in the field with the Torchbearer Award. The magic of Av works lies in collaboration, and at the heart of that collaboration is the richness created by a wide range of creators. This richness of perspectives provides a basis for understanding different stories and thus creates ways to tell them.

The winner of this award will have a significant impact on our industry as a whole, and will have a particular impact on our working culture. AVATE wants to reward someone whose work has made previously invisible structures visible and, above all, who has been instrumental in creating ways to influence these structures. A respectful and equal working culture is an absolute success factor for the future of our sector."

Aalto University's Action! project has done a remarkable job in creating opportunities for female professionals in the audiovisual sector. The three-year ESF-funded project ended in May 2022, with the Department of Cinematography at Aalto University's School of Arts and Design as the main implementer and Women in Finland and Television Finland (WIFT Finland) ry as a co-initiator.

AVATE ry is the umbrella organisation of the Finnish Actors' Association, the Finnish Film Directors' Association and the Finnish Screenwriters' Association.


  • Published:
  • Updated:
URL copied!

Read more news

CreaTures logo
Research & Art Published:

The CreaTures research project highlights how creative practices can contribute to the sustainability agenda

The newly published CreaTures Co-Laboratory Catalogue offers an overview of experiences, insights and outcomes that emerged from 20 experimental artistic productions developed within the CreaTures project in 2020 – 2022.
MEC global pilots
Honoured, University Published:

Adjunct Professor Stefan Werner named IEEE Fellow

He is being recognized for contributions to in-band full-duplex wireless communication systems and selective data-reuse online learning.
Taloustieteilijät Pertti Haaparanta ja Ritva Reinikka (kuvat: Vilja Pursiainen ja Heikki Tuuli)
Honoured, Research & Art Published:

Yrjö Jahnsson Foundation Science Award to two doctors of development economics with long careers

Ritva Reinikka and Pertti Haaparanta share the Lifetime Achievement Award
Havainnekuva Aalto University Works -korttelista
Campus, Honoured, University Published:

Aalto Works energy solution awarded as Energy Genius of the Year 2022

The solution is based on connecting local production and the district heating system, as well as low heat and cold networks