Hanna Sievinen appointed to the Aalto University Board

Board member Karel Luyben will continue for a new term
Hanna Sievinen

The Aalto University Academic Affairs Committee has appointed DSc (Econ) Hanna Sievinen as a new member of the Aalto University Board and re-appointed Professor Karel Luyben for a new term as of 1 January 2024. The term of office on the board is three years.

Hanna Sievinen comes to the board with extensive practical experience in board work, business life and asset management. Sievinen is currently a professional board member in several companies and organisations and is Chair at Futurice and Vice Chair at Taaleri, among others. Between 2000 and 2014, she held several managerial positions at Nokia Corporation in many countries. She also works as an independent corporate advisor and holds several positions of trust. 

Hanna Sievinen holds a doctoral degree in economics and business administration from LUT University in Finland and master’s degrees from the Helsinki School of Economics in Finland and the Rennes School of Business in France. 

The Academic Affairs Committee selected Karel Luyben, whose term of office is ending, for a new term as of 1 January 2024. Professor Luyben has been a member of the Aalto University Board since the beginning of 2018.

Stepping down from the board is Sari Baldauf, who has been a member of the Aalto University Board for two terms. 

‘Sari Baldauf has done very valuable work for Aalto University. She brought her broad expertise in board work, stakeholder cooperation and industrial-academic collaboration to the board. Sari’s considerable experience in international business and her strategic skills have been a significant asset to the board. We thank her warmly,’ says Mikko Kosonen, Chair of the Aalto University Board.

As of 1 January 2024, the Aalto University Board will comprise Mariana Amatullo, Ilkka KivimäkiMikko Kosonen, Karel LuybenAndreas Mortensen, Marita Niemelä and Hanna Sievinen.

More information:
Kristiina Mäkelä, Provost, Chair of the Academic Affairs Committee
+358 40 559 3454, [email protected]

Read more

Oppimiskeskus alakerta


The Aalto University Board decides on the strategy, operation and financial issues and is responsible for any far-reaching plans.

Aalto University
AAK_Aalto University_Photo Mikko Raskinen

Academic Affairs Committee

The Aalto University Academic Affairs Committee is a joint, university-level administrative body consisting of several members. It serves to promote a high quality of research, teaching, and artistic activity.

Aalto Handbook
  • Published:
  • Updated:

Read more news

Esiintyjiä tapahtumassa
Press releases Published:

Sustainability Science Days gathers record participation - next year’s theme will be “Breaking the sustainability bubble”

Finland's largest sustainability research and innovation event brought together over 1,500 experts from over a hundred different countries. The event was organized at Aalto University and the University of Helsinki this year in cooperation with the world's largest sustainability congress, SRI.
Woman in light coloured shirt sits and smiles by the window
Appointments, University Published:

Professor Maarit Salolainen: ‘Multidisciplinary cooperation is the key to solving sustainability issues in the textile field’

Professor of Textile Design Maarit Salolainen wants to see closer cooperation not only between research in different fields but also between the university, the industry and resellers to bring about change.
Vili Lehdonvirta, phóto: Mikko Raskinen, Aalto University
Press releases Published:

Cloud empires: Mapping the geopolitics of data infrastructures

The trend towards hyperscale cloud infrastructures is creating powerful global gatekeepers of computational capability. We must understand the geopolitical implications.
Vice Dean for Education at the School of Engineering Jani Romanoff. Photo: Joonas Lehtovaara / Aalto University
Appointments Published:

Jani Romanoff to continue as Vice Dean for Education at the School of Engineering

Romanoff is an accomplished teacher and educational developer who enjoys working with others to find systemic solutions.