80 years of Ceremonial Conferments of Doctoral Degrees in the field of technology

The Aalto University schools of technology will hold a second joint Ceremonial Conferment of Doctoral Degrees in Otaniemi on 10 October 2014.

The Helsinki University of Technology (TKK) held its first Ceremonial Conferment of Doctoral Degrees 80 years ago in 1934, when 10 doctorates of technology and two honorary doctorates were conferred. Ceremonial Conferments of Doctoral Degrees have a long tradition in the schools of technology: In the university's 100 year history, TKK has held twenty such conferment ceremonies.

Through the years the university has internationalised, as can be seen in the growing number of foreign doctoral degree conferees.

‘Today’s challenges require a university which is also globally networked, with actors who are able to move effortlessly between academic research and entrepreneurship. The growth in international activities is visible at all levels. For example, more and more teaching is provided in English. Global marketing of professor and researcher posts has brought new ideas and operating models into the university,’ states professor Jannie Laine, Dean of Aalto University School of Chemical Technology.

During the Act of Conferment the new doctors and ten honorary doctors will be received as members of the technological science community. During the ceremony doctoral degrees will be awarded to those Doctors of Philosophy and Technology who have completed their doctoral degree between 1 July 2012 and 30 June 2014. The total number of doctoral degree conferees is 346.

Among those receiving their degrees are ten significant influencers in science and society. These honorary Doctors of Technology are Senior Advisor Jorma Eloranta, Vice President Mikko Hupa, Doctor of Science (Economics and Business Administration) Sirkka Hämälainen, Professor Sumio Iijima, Professor Torgeir Moan, Professor Hans Niemantsverdriet, Professor H. Vincent Poor, Professor Claudia Tesche, Professor Esko Ukkonen, and Professor Jens Zander.

Ceremonial Conferment of Doctoral Degrees

Friday 10 October, 13:15 - app. 16:30, Hall A, Otakaari 1, Otaniemi, Espoo

Follow the conferment ceremony live online

The main event of the day, the Ceremonial Conferment, can be followed live on the internet.

  • Published:
  • Updated:
URL copied!

Read more news

LinkedIn Learning not working
Campus Published:

LinkedIn Learning: License Error

An error requires all LinkedIn Learning licenses to be renewed. How to renew your license.
Lots of people set off running in Aalto 10K and 5K sports event in September 2022
University Published:

The Aalto 10K inspired over 1,300 sports enthusiasts

The Aalto 10K & 5K sports event on 17 September was full of the joy of exercise and togetherness – see the photos!
Illustration image on a sunny day as the sun is setting, of Otakaari 2A, the lights in the building are lit and there are blurry images of people walking around. Grass and trees are green.
Campus, Press releases, University Published:

The new Marsio building is a showcase for research, teaching and impact at Aalto University

The name was selected through a contest, and it is a tribute to Aino Marsio-Aalto.
people sitting
Studies Published:

Aalto University graduates successfully employed

Nationwide career monitoring survey starts on 3rd of October. All 2017 master's graduates and 2019 doctoral graduates will be invited to participate in the survey.