The HYBER Centre

Biological tailors

Our four research groups work as biological “tailors” on molecular self-assembly, genetic engineering of proteins, biotechnical production of engineered biomolecules, and plant cell wall materials.
Aalto University/HYBER

HYBER combines research groups with a broad knowledge of physical and chemical materials science to create a multidisciplinary and creative research environment. We merge materials science with biology and molecular engineering to understand and develop new concepts for materials and programmable systems.

HYBER is formed by the research groups of Professor Olli Ikkala, Professor Markus Linder, Professor Merja Penttilä, Professor Orlando Rojas and Professor Janne Laine. The combination of our expertise enables research on controlling and designing self-assembly and structural hierarchies in multicomponent hybrid materials from the molecular and colloidal levels upwards.

OUR VISION: Biological concepts for the next generation of materials science.

HYBER's Research Topics

HYBER members also include:

Biohybrid Materials Professor Mauri Kostiainen

Soft Matter and Wetting Professor Robin Ras

Active Matter Professor Jaakko Timonen

Nanomicroscopy Center Professor Janne Ruokolainen

Affiliated HYBER Members

Folding with Halogen Bonding

Visiting Professor Pierangelo Metrangolo
Department of Chemistry, Materials, and Chemical Engineering “Giulio Natta”, Politecnico di Milano

Prof. Metrangolo's research interests include crystal engineering, fluorine chemistry, supramolecular, and biomimetic materials. The Nanostructured Fluorinated Materials group focuses on the study of the self-assembly properties of halocarbons and their interactions with biomolecules for applications in the fields of functional materials and nanomedicine.

He received the ERC-StG2012 grant with project “FOLDHALO – Folding with Halogen Bonding”, aimed at investigating the relevance of halogen bonding in biological systems. Aalto University, Department of Applied Physics acted as a beneficiary of the FOLDHALO grant.

Nanomicroscopy Center

Prof. Janne Ruokolainen
Department of Applied Physics / Nanomicroscopy center, Aalto University

Aalto University Nanomicroscopy Center is a part of the OtaNano infrastructure and provides high resolution microscopy to researchers.

Plant Cells for Materials

Prof. Janne Laine (Former PI)
Currently Dean of Aalto University School of Chemical Engineering
Department of Bioproducts and Biosystems, Aalto University

The interdisciplinary Forest Products Surface Chemistry group aims to maintain a state-of the-art research program in forest products chemistry. Currently, Prof. Laine acts as the Dean of Aalto University's School of Chemical Technology.

Nanostructures and Materials

Prof. Päivi Laaksonen, Häme University of Applied Sciences

  • Published:
  • Updated:
URL copied!