Department of Film (ELO)

Contact Information

Personal profiles and contact information are found in You can find ACRIS-listing in the bottom of this page.
Switchboard: +358 9 47001
email-addresses: [email protected]
Aalto University Department of Film


Main offices are located in VÄRE Building, E-wing, Otaniementie 14 and in Aalto Studios Otakaari 7, 02150 ESPOO.
Staff is working all over the Campus area. Switchboard helps you to find personnel if needed.

BA students are found in Otakaari 1 and MA students in Väre Building, 1st floor.

School of Arts, Design and Architecture by Sari Dhima


Otaniementie 14
School of Arts, Design and Architecture


Department Management

Head of the Department 
Lecturer Anna Heiskanen

Head of Education in the Department
Associate Professor Pietari Koskinen

Head of Research in the Department
Associate Professor, Film Research Susanna Helke

Head of the Master's program
Associate Professor Rauno Ronkainen

Head of the Bachelor's program
University Teacher Tomi Lauri

Majors in Film and Television

Executive in Residence Tuula Leinonen
Assistant Heta Jokinen

Associate Professor Rauno Ronkainen
Lecturer Jonathan Harvey
Assistant Arttu Liimatta

Costume Design
Associate Professor Sofia Pantouvaki
University Lecturer Merja Väisänen
Workshop Master Johanna Ilmarinen

Documentary Film
Executive in Residence Arturo Delgado Pereira
University Teacher Elina Talvensaari
Assistant Gyöngyi Fazekas

Senior University Lecturer Hanna Maylett
University Teacher Marika Harjusaari
Assistant Magdaleena Jakkila

Film Editing
Associate Professor Harri Ylönen
University Teacher Tuuli Alanärä
Senior University Lecturer Oskar Franzén
Workshop Master (post-production) Jussi Lohijoki

Film and Television Producing
Professor of Practice Miia Haavisto
Lecturer Anna Heiskanen
Producer Anu Hukka
Assistant Johan-Sebastian Rintala

Film History
Adjunct Professor, Film History and Theory, Olaf Möller
University Lecturer, Film History, Theory, and Research Ph.D. Satu Kyösola

Production design
Professor, Artistic Practices Kaisa Mäkinen
University Teacher Tomi Lauri
Assistant Elina Eskelinen

Professor, Artistic Practices Raija Talvio
University Teacher Timo Lehti

Scenography - joint studies
Lecturer in Digital Design Methods in Film Teemu Määttänen
Workshop Master Jyri Lahelma

Sound Design
Associate Professor Pietari Koskinen
Senior University Lecturer Patrick Boullenger
Assistant Juhana Vihervaara

Other staff,

Doctoral Researcher Danai Anagnostou
Doctoral Researcher Katarina Blomqvist
Doctoral Researcher Heini Granberg
Doctoral Researcher Erol Mintaş
Doctoral Researcher Brenda Robles
Doctoral Researcher Susanna Suurla
Doctoral Researcher Kari Yli-Annala
Postdoctoral Researcher Maarit Kalmakurki
Academy Research Fellow Alejandro Pedregal Villodres
Professor of Practice Outi Lahtinen
Coordinator Saara Toivanen (Festival Office)
Project Specialist Johanna Wartio
Project Employee Pia Naarajärvi
Secretary Ines Turunen

Klaffi ry
Chairperson Venla Monni
[email protected]

ACRIS Listing:

Harri Laakso

Professori (Associate professor)

Pietari Koskinen

Professori (Associate professor)

Kaisa Mäkinen

Professor (Artistic Practices)

Mika Karhu

University Lecturer

Sofia Pantouvaki

Professori (Associate professor)

Raija Talvio

Professor (Artistic) Practices

Salla Sorri

University Lecturer

Outi Lahtinen

Professor of Practice
Johanna Wartio

Johanna Wartio

A801 Dept. Film, Television and Scenography
  • Published:
  • Updated: