Two new professor appointments at the School of Chemical Engineering

Tiina Nypelö DSc (Tech) has been appointed Associate Professor and Luana Dessbesell (PhD) has been appointed Assistant Professor at the Department of Bioproducts and Biosystems.
Nypelö and Dessbesell
Associate Professor Tiina Nypelö and Assistant Professor Luana Dessbesell.

Tiina Nypelö’s field of the Professorship is Lignocellulosic Chemistry, and she is appointed as of 1st January 2023. Tiina Nypelö received her doctorate from Aalto University in 2012. Nypelö has been working as a postdoc researcher at the University of Natural Resources and Life Sciences in Vienna, Austria and at North Carolina State University in Raleigh, USA. Currently, she works as Associate Professor at the Chalmers University of Technology in Gothenburg, Sweden.

Luana Dessbesell’s field of the Professorhip is Sustainable Bioproducts lnnovation, and she is appointed as of 1st February 2023.  Luana Dessbesell received her doctorate in forest sciences from the Lakehead University in Ontario, Canada in 2019. Since then, she has been working in EnVertis Consulting Inc. in Montreal, Canada as a Project Manager concentrating in Bioeconomy transformation strategies.

  • Published:
  • Updated:
URL copied!

Read more news

Nainen rannalla tuulisella säällä hymyilee, taustalla meri kuohuaa
Appointments, Research & Art Published:

Professor Ranja Hautamäki: ‘Diverse urban nature is key to increasing well-being and carbon sinks’

Professor of Landscape Architecture is tackling the issues of climate change mitigation and urban carbon sinks.
NASAn Curiosity-mönkijä kuvaama pölypyörre Marsin Gale-kraatterissa. Kuvankäsittely: Henrik Kahanpää. Alkuperäinen kuva: NASA / JPL-Caltech
Research & Art, Studies Published:

On Mars the weather varies dramatically, however the planet’s climate is not changing

The doctoral dissertation of Henrik Kahanpää also questions a prevailing perception related to dust devils on Mars. As a researcher, he hopes that humans would never go to Mars.
Kristo Ovaska, Kauppakorkeakoulun Vuoden Alumni 2022
Appointments Published:

Kristo Ovaska is the Alumnus of the Year 2022 of the School of Business

‘There is a great deal of demand for wide-ranging competence in the labour market,’ says Kristo Ovaska
Merja Penttilä
Studies Published:

Merja Penttilä receives honorary title of Academician of Science

Merja Penttilä's specific focus is on so-called cell factories, microorganisms that are engineered to produce biobased products for energy, health, materials and other applications.