The Oskari Vilamo Fund awards 2020

In 2020, four doctoral dissertations in the field of construction and seven master's thesis were awarded.
construction industry

The doctoral dissertation award went to Aalto University's Vincent Kuo (Department of Civil Engineering), Pia Talja (Department of Built Environment) and Freja Ståhlberg (Department of Architecture), and Mikko Kylliäinen from the University of Tampere. The amount of the grant is 3,500 euros.

Matias Ingman and Anni Juvakoski (Department of Built Environment), Lassi Luotonen and Benjamin Schulman (Department of Architecture), Maja Kruus and Annukka Säätelä from the University of Tampere and Tino Toivonen from the University of Oulu received the master's thesis award. The amount of the master's thesis award is 2,000 euros.

Oskari Vilamo Fund - developer of the construction industry

The purpose of the fund, which is part of the Business Education Fund, is to promote higher research in construction. Lemminkäinen founded the fund in 1985 and named it a key figure in the company's history after financial advisor Oskari Vilamo. YIT has supported the fund since 2018.
The foundation has been awarding thesis prizes since 1993. The Foundation has awarded the best theses since 1993. To date, it has awarded 63 doctoral dissertations, 20 licentiate degrees and 149 master's thesis, including the 2020 awards.


  • Published:
  • Updated:

Read more news

Nomaji landscap architects Kaapelipuisto park view. Photo Tommy Kankkonen
Awards and Recognition Published:

2023 State Prize for Architecture awarded to Nomaji Landscape Architects

Aalto University researcher and long-time lecturer Mari Ariluoma is a partner in Nomaji, and researcher Caroline Moinel a Nomaji designer.
Nokia Säätiön tunnustuspalkinto emeritusprofessori Antti Räisäselle radiotekniikan tutkimuksen ja opetuksen kehittämisestä
Awards and Recognition Published:

Nokia Foundation grants Professor Emeritus Antti Räisänen a recognition award for achievements in radio engineering research and education

Professor Emeritus Antti Räisänen, is a pioneer in the scientific research of higher radio frequencies and is known for his relentless passion for developing radio engineering education.
Building 2030 - Aalto Pioneering Excellence Award 2023
Awards and Recognition Published:

The Building 2030 wants to make Finland's construction industry the most reliable in the world

The Aalto Pioneering Excellence Award 2023 was awarded to the Building 2030 consortium, led by Olli Seppänen and Antti Peltokorven, which includes 21 companies.
Juha Heinoselle parhaan väitöskirjan palkinto. Kuva: Jari Härkönen
Awards and Recognition Published:

Juha Heinonen receives TEK’s and TFiF’s best dissertation award

In his doctoral thesis, an Aalto University alum developed a loss-free radiation sensor which is already on the way to the global market with mass production just getting started.