Sari Baldauf and Karel Ch. A. M. Luyben to Aalto University Board

New members bring strong competencies in international leadership.

The Aalto University Academic Affairs Committee has appointed two new members to the University Board as of 1 January 2018. M.Sc. (Econ.) Sari Baldauf (b. 1955) and Professor Karel Ch. A. M. Luyben (b. 1951) bring to Aalto strong competencies in strategic leadership, business-academia collaboration and technology and engineering.

Sari Baldauf has extensive experience in leading large international corporations as well as in working with SMEs and startup companies. She is a professional board member in several companies and organisations, and Chair of the Board at Fortum.  In the non-profit sector she is involved with education and employability of young people. She worked at Nokia Corporation from 1983 to 2005 in various executive positions, and as a member of the Nokia Executive Board. Sari Baldauf is an honorary doctor and alumna of Aalto University and a member of the Student Union Honorary Delegation.

Professor Karel Ch. A. M. Luyben has been Rector Magnificus of Delft University of Technology in the Netherlands since 2010, after having served as Dean of the Faculty of Applied Sciences. He is a Professor of Biochemical Engineering and has extensive experience as a researcher, educator and academic leader. Throughout his career, he has provided industry and government with consultation in the areas of technology, innovation and industrial policies. He is also the co-founder of a research-based SME. Professor Luyben is active in numerous cooperative networks with international universities.

Sari Baldauf

Karel Ch. A. M. Luyben


‘The Nomination Committee reviewed thoroughly a number of experts in business and top-tier universities. Sari Baldauf and Karel Ch. A. M. Luyben have each demonstrated a diverse range of strengths and competencies in their specialised fields, in addition to possessing outstanding cooperation skills and the enthusiasm to make Aalto University’s ambitious goals a reality’, remarks Professor Yrjö Neuvo, Chair of the Nomination Committee.

Stepping down from the Board are Professors Bengt Holmström and Saku Mantere, members since the foundation who now complete their final term, having served the maximum number of years allowable.

‘Bengt Holmström and Saku Mantere have served the university with distinction from its establishment and launch through its ascent to international recognition. We are grateful to them for the outstanding work they have performed and the wisdom they have shown while on the Board,’ remarks Chair of the Board Anne Brunila.

As of 1 January 2018, the Aalto University Board will comprise M. Sc. (Econ.) Sari Baldauf, Professor Anne Brunila (Chair), President Mikko Kosonen, Professor Karel Ch. A. M. Luyben, Professor Liqiu Meng, Professor Colin Whitehouse and Director Susanna Pettersson.

  • Published:
  • Updated:
URL copied!

Read more news

Three decaying linden trees as campus outdoor art placed next to light rail tracks in front of the Undergraduate Centre.
Campus, University Published:

New decaying wood artwork on the Otaniemi campus

The piece enhances, among other things, the versatility of campus nature
The ultrasonic needle, which is a regular medical needle with a metal attachement connected to a large box on the side of the syringe
Studies Published:

Ultrasound provides medical needles new functions - can be used to deliver genes

The technology of medical needles has not changed dramatically in 150 years. In his doctoral research, Emanuele Perra explored if nonlinear ultrasound can be used to overcome the limitations of currently used medical needles, such as the pain experienced by patients, inaccuracy and variable quality of needle samples.
Picture of the annual party
Cooperation Published:

The Association of Process Engineering Students, Prosessiteekkarit ry, invited Dean Kristiina Kruus to become an honorary member

The Association of Process Engineering Students (Prosessiteekkarit ry, PT) of the School of Chemical Engineering is celebrating its 10th anniversary this year and to mark the occasion it has invited Kristiina Kruus, Dean of the School, to become its first honorary member.
Juha Jouhki
Cooperation Published:

Juha Jouhki, Aalto University alumni and experienced investor: “Studying is a process, not a project”

Juha Jouhki's family business supports Aalto because top-level research is key to Finnish companies’ worldwide prestige.