Risto Nieminen invited to become the Honorary President of the Finnish Cultural Foundation

Academician, Professor Emeritus and the former Dean of the School of Science Risto Nieminen will be the 32nd Honorary President.

He has held various positions of responsibility at the Finnish Cultural Foundation between 1994 and 2012.

According to the rules of the Finnish Cultural Foundation, for the office of its life-time honorary president, the foundation's board can invite Finnish nationals especially distinguished in Finnish cultural work. The tradition is based on the Finnish Cultural Foundation collection of 1937-39 supported by the President of the Republic of Finland Kyösti Kallio, the patron for the collection. After him, almost all Finland's presidents have acted as the honorary presidents of the Foundation. Current honorary presidents, apart from the presidents of the whole nation, include Academician Olli Lehto and Pekka Hallberg, the former President of the Supreme Administrative Court. Earlier honorary presidents include A.I.Virtanen, Alvar Aalto, Rolf Nevanlinna and Erkki Laurila.

  • Published:
  • Updated:
URL copied!

Read more news

People with laptops having a meeting around a table.
Studies Published:

First time manager training gives guidance for new supervisors, team leaders and project managers

Students will find out what kind of skills and knowledge a person starting in their first managerial position should have.
Follow @aaltowellbeing on Instagram, TikTok and Facebook
Campus Published:

Follow @aaltowellbeing on Instagram, Facebook and TikTok!

Stay up to date on research-based information, events and services on wellbeing and inclusion at Aalto University by following @aaltowellbeing on Instagram, Facebook and TikTok.
Number 47 as infographics
University Published:

Aalto University ranks among the top 50 globally for international outlook

Times Higher Education lists Aalto 47th in the world and 3rd in the Nordics
SLUSH 2019
University Published:

Aalto Startup Center makes global top three in 2021-2022 university business accelerator ranking

UBI Global World Benchmark Study ranks top business incubators and accelerators