Professor Virpi Tuunainen received the 2016 AIS Fellow Award

The AIS Fellow Award recognizes individuals who have made outstanding contributions to the information systems discipline.
AIS President Jason Thatcher (on the left) gave the award to Professor Virpi Tuunainen in the ICIS 2016 Conference held in Dublin in mid-December.

Professor of Information Systems Science Virpi Tuunainen is one of eight esteemed recipients of the year 2016 Association for Information Systems (AIS) Fellow Award.

Established in 1999 by the AIS Council and the ICIS Executive Committee, the AIS Fellow Award recognizes individuals who have made outstanding contributions to the information systems discipline in terms of research, teaching and service. A Fellow is expected to have made exceptional contributions in at least one of these categories and to have made significant contributions in the other two categories. Significant global contributions to the information systems discipline as well as outstanding local contributions in the context of their country and region are expected from the Fellow.

Professor Tuunainen is the past VP of Publications of the AIS, and the past Chair of AIS SIG Services. Currently, she serves as Senior Associate Editor for EJIS, is a member of the editorial boards of The Journal of the AIS, The Journal of Strategic Information Systems, and Electronic Markets - The International Journal of Electronic Commerce and Business Media, and is a member of the editorial advisory board of Information Systems Journal. 

For more information about Professor Tuunainen (Aalto People,
and about AIS, please visit

  • Published:
  • Updated:
URL copied!

Read more news

Honoured Published:

Best doctoral theses and master's theses 2022 in the School of Science awarded

This year, six doctoral theses and five master's theses were granted awards
Palkinnon saajat
Honoured Published:

Decorations of the President of the Republic at the School of Chemical Engineering

Three Presidential Medals of Honour have been awarded to the School of Chemical Engineering. The medals were awarded to Professor Jouni Paltakari, Research Engineer Esa Uosukainen and Management Assistant Anne Forsström.
Prof. Matti Liski, Vuoden Opettaja 2023
Honoured Published:

KY nominated Professor Matti Liski as Teacher of the Year 2023

Students describe Liski’s teaching style as top-tier, exciting and encouraging
Dean Tuomas Auvinen opened the Annual Review event in Dipoli
Honoured, Research & Art Published:

The Annual Review reflected on the results of the past year

At the Annual Review of the School of Arts, Design and Architecture 8 March, recognition was also given to the achievements of the past year and the Alumna of the Year was awarded.