New professors to the School of Arts, Design and Architecture

School of Arts, Design and Architecture gets new professors in the departments of Design, Architecture, Art and Media and Film.
Väre. Kuva: Tuomas Uusheimo

Department of Design: Julia Valle Noronha has been appointed as Assistant Professor in fashion design from 1 August, 2022. Andrea Botero has beenappointed as Associate Professor in New frontiers in design from 1 July, 2022. İdil Gaziulusoy has been appointed in permanent position of Associate Professor (tenured) in Sustainable Design as of 1 July, 2022. Mikko Jalas has been appointed as Associate Professor (tenured) in the field of Co-innovating for Circular Solutions from 1 July, 2022. The professorship is shared between the Department of Design (60 %) and the Department of Management Studies (40 %).

Department of Architecture: Ranja Hautamäki has been appointed as Associate Professor (tenured) in landscape architecture from 1 April, 2022. Tomasz Rygalik has been appointed as Associate Professor (tenured) in furniture design from 1 August, 2022.

Department of Art and Media: Mira Kallio-Tavin has been appointed as Adjunct Professor and Bassam El Baroni has been appointed as Associate Professor (tenured) in curating and mediating art as of 1 May, 2022. Arja Karhumaa has been appointed as Associate Professor (tenured) in visual communication design as of 1 September, 2022. Andrés Lucero has been appointed as Associate Professor (tenured) in interaction design from 1 September, 2022 at the Department of Art and Media and the Department of Design.

Department of Film: Harri Ylönen has been appointed as Associate Professor in film editing from 1 March, 2022.

Interviews with the new professors will be published in later in the autumn.

The news has been edited 6.9.2022: appointments of Arja Karhumaa and Andrés Lucero have been added.

  • Published:
  • Updated:
URL copied!

Read more news

Espoo Ambassador 2022, prof. Rebecca Piekkari
Appointments, Cooperation Published:

Professor Rebecca Piekkari selected as Espoo Ambassador 2022

As Espoo Ambassador, Professor Piekkari will represent Espoo's scientific excellence when travelling around the world
Metsähovi's director Joni Tammi at Aalto University photo: Mikko Raskinen
Appointments Published:

Joni Tammi continues as Director of Metsähovi Radio Observatory

The appointment is for the term 2023–2025.

President Ilkka Niemelä, Aalto University
Appointments Published:

President Ilkka Niemelä appointed as Unite! Vice President

Unite! European University Alliance will strengthen its leadership with two new Vice Presidents. Aalto University is one of the nine partner universities in the alliance founded in 2019. Unite! is building a new European university model.
Mikael Huhtamäki.
Appointments, University Published:

Aalto strengthens its entrepreneurial ecosystem in creative sectors with the lead of Mikael Huhtamäki

Project manager Mikael Huhtamäki is looking for ideas on how to develop multidisciplinary collaboration within Aalto University’s entrepreneurial ecosystem.