Marita Niemelä appointed to Aalto University Board

Andreas Mortensen to continue for a new three-year term

The Aalto University Academic Affairs Committee has appointed DSc (Tech) Marita Niemelä as a new member of the Aalto University Board and Professor Andreas Mortensen for a new three-year term as of 1 January 2023.

Marita Niemelä received her doctoral degree in the field of chemical engineering from the Helsinki University of Technology in 1997. In 2009–2011, she served as part-time professor at Aalto University.

Marita Niemelä

Niemelä is currently the director of the energy business unit at CSIRO, Australia’s national science agency and innovation catalyst. From the beginning of 2023, she will lead Rejlers Finland’s new division focused on sustainable energy solutions. She has also held leading positions at Neste Engineering Solutions, Valmet, Metso and Pöyry. Niemelä has been a Board Member of the Academy of Finland and the Finnish Bioeconomy Cluster FIBIC and an Advisory Board Member of VTT Technical Research Centre of Finland. In addition, she has held several international roles.

Marita Niemelä combines thorough knowledge of the Finnish education, research and innovation systems with a strong international perspective. Her expertise on research-based renewal of the energy industry is an important asset for Aalto University in the rapidly evolving national and global environment.

The Academic Affairs Committee selected Andreas Mortensen, whose term of office is ending, for a new term as of 1 January 2023. Andreas Mortensen has been a member of the Aalto University Board since the beginning of 2020.

Stepping down from the board is Susanna Pettersson, who has been a member of the Aalto University Board for three consecutive terms, starting on 1 March 2014. According to the Aalto University Foundation’s Constitution, she therefore cannot be reappointed for a new term.

‘Susanna Pettersson's influence on the development of Aalto University and its board has been crucial in many ways. In addition to her significant expertise in the field of culture, she has systematically emphasised and promoted the status and wellbeing of students in the university community. Susanna’s constructive, pleasant and broadly considerate style and actions have helped build trust and a good atmosphere within both the board and the broader community,’ says Board Chair Mikko Kosonen.

As of 1 January 2023, the Aalto University Board will comprise Mariana AmatulloSari Baldauf, Ilkka KivimäkiMikko Kosonen, Karel LuybenAndreas Mortensen and Marita Niemelä.


More information:
Kristiina Mäkelä, Provost, Chair of the Academic Affairs Committee
+358 40 559 3454, [email protected]



The Aalto University Board decides on the strategy, operation and financial issues and is responsible for any far-reaching plans.

Lue lisää
Oppimiskeskus alakerta
  • Published:
  • Updated:
URL copied!

Read more news

Kolme henkilöä Kauppakorkeakoululla
University Published:

Teaching and courses are developed based on student feedback

The AllWell? survey is used to figure out things that can be developed to improve the students’ ability to study
Financial Times ranking 2022
University Published:

Aalto ranked 34 in the Financial Times European Business Schools Ranking

Aalto continues at place #2 among Nordic Business Schools
Local partner organizations joining UCAMP
Cooperation, University Published:

Local organisations join Aalto University's Urban GoodCamp as project partners

Five organisations from the Helsinki Metropolitan Area's public and private sector are joining the Erasmus+ Urban Goodcamp project, providing challenges and mentoring to the students participating in the programme. The project Urban GoodCamp aims to tackle pressing urban challenges through multidisciplinary programmes for students, researchers, and life-long learners.
Suomen Leijonan I luokan komentajamerkki
Honoured, University Published:

Independence Day decorations for Aalto personnel

President Ilkka Niemelä is among 15 Aalto employees to receive decoration by the President of Finland. Congratulations!