Five teams awarded at opening ceremony

President Ilkka Niemelä recognised five teams from the Aalto community for their achievements at the Opening Ceremony of the Academic Year.

In addition to three Aalto Awards, two Impact Awards were granted for the first time.

Aalto Awards

Aalto Act of the Year is CERES competence centre
The Aalto Act of the Year for 2018 was awarded to Professor Orlando Rojas, Senior Grant Writer Outi Söderberg and Project Manager Kati Miettunen for their effective collaboration in forwarding cutting-edge research in renewable raw materials. This spring the CERES competence centre for the materials bioeconomy, a joint venture between Aalto University and VTT Technical Research Centre of Finland, received the Academy of Finland Flagship funding. President Ilkka Niemelä said “CERES research offers opportunities for future sustainable growth, while also benefiting society through improved competitiveness, investment and jobs.” Partners from VTT who have been involved in the co-operation are Research Professor Kristiina Kruus, Vice President, Research Tiina Nakari-Setälä and Vice President, Biomass Processing and Products Jani Lehto.


The Aalto Act of the Year award was collected by Outi Söderberg and Kati Miettunen (in the middle). On the left President Ilkka Niemelä and on the right Provost Kristiina Mäkelä

Success Enabler is Management Information Service (MIS)
The Aalto Success Enabler award for 2018 was given to the Management Information Service’s Service's team for their excellent work in producing and analysing information. The team has supported the preparation of background material for the RAI assessment. The team adapted its operations to the Ministry's reporting requirements and developed analytics, forecast models and new service concepts. President Niemelä said: “The team works seamlessly with both academic staff and services, with a happy, development-oriented and forward-looking attitude.”


The Success Enabler award was collected by Team Leader Matti Apajalahti, Head of Management Information Service.

Community Award granted to AYY for the Independence Day event
The Aalto Community award was given to Aalto University Student Union (AYY) and the organising committee of the Independence Day reception on 6 December 2017 in Dipoli. The event united the Aalto community, and it was stylish and fun-filled as well. The President noted that “The event provided a unique setting for dialogue between current students, alumni and Aalto University personnel.” The Centenary Independence Day reception, which was organised jointly by AYY and the Aalto University alumni, was the largest event of its kind in Finland.


The Community award was collected by Niina Palm from AYY (in the middle).

Impact Awards

Impact Awards recognise education as well as either outstanding research or artistic impact.

Education Impact award granted to marine technology and FITech
The Aalto Education Impact award was granted to Professor Jani Romanoff, Assistant Professor Heikki Remes, Professor Pentti Kujala, post doctoral researcher Osiris A. Valdez Banda, and Lecturer Martin Bergström for their outstanding efforts in game-changing education in marine technology in connection with the Finnish Institute of Technology (FITech) activities in the Turku area. President Niemelä noted that “The education uses new forms of collaboration boldly to develop expertise within a field of industry that is truly important to our society.”


The Education Impact award was collected by (second from the left) Jani Romanoff, Heikki Remes, Pentti Kujala, Osiris A. Valdez Banda ja Martin Bergström.

Artistic Impact award to the documentary film Boiling Point
The Aalto Artistic Impact award was granted to MA student Elina Hirvonen and her supervisor and research project leader Professor Susanna Helke for their outstanding efforts in societal impact through the film. Boiling Point is an MA thesis project conducted in the framework of the artistic research project Images of Harmony and Rupture, led by Professor Helke. President Ilkka Niemelä said that “The film boldly encourages dialogue around the climate of increasing polarisation in society.”


The Artistic Impact award was collected by (the two in the middle) Elina Hirvonen and Susanna Helke.


Photos Mikko Raskinen

  • Published:
  • Updated:
URL copied!

Related news

Picture of Professor Raimo Hämäläinen
Honoured, Research & Art Published:

Professor wins international prize for research on decision-making

Emeritus Professor Raimo P. Hämäläinen’s career celebrated with the 2019 Frank P. Ramsey Medal
Human City Design Award Antti Ahlava Kuva: Anna Aminoff
Campus, Honoured, University Published:

School as a Service concept received the Human City Design Award

The award recognizes the creation of a more sustainable community and environment.
Opiskelijoita työn touhussa Oppimiskeskuksessa. Kuva: Unto Rautio
Honoured Published:

Several researchers at School of Business to receive a grant from Jenny and Antti Wihuri Foundation

The Foundation wants to work towards maintaining the preconditions for scientific and artistic activities and to enable experimental projects.
Kauppakorkeakoulun Vuoden väitöskirjatutkija Iiris Saittakari
Honoured Published:

Iiris Saittakari’s doctoral dissertation awarded

Postdoctoral researcher Iiris Saittakari’s dissertation "The Location of Headquarters: Why, When and Where are Regional Mandates Located?” was awarded as the best dissertation in the Aalto University School of Business in 2018.