Decorations on the Independence Day

Eighteen members of Aalto University faculty and staff awarded.

The President of Finland Sauli Niinistö grants decorations to following employees of Aalto University on the Finnish Independence Day, 6 December.

Knight, First Class, of the Order of the White Rose of Finland
Ilkka Niemelä, Provost
Marianna Bom, Director, Finance
Seppo Ikäheimo, Professor
Visa Koivunen, Professor

Knight of the Order of the White Rose of Finland
Anu Maja, Production Designer

Knight of the Order of the Lion of Finland
Seppo Jääskeläinen, Operating Engineer
Kaija Meriläinen, HR Specialist

Cross of Merit of the Order of the White Rose of Finland
Markus Peuhkuri, Laboratory Engineer

First Class Medal of the Order of the White Rose of Finland with golden cross
Pirjo Asiala
, Producer
Riitta-Liisa Peltonen, Planning Officer

First Class Medal of the  Order of the White Rose of Finland
Pulmu Föhr-Siltavuori
, Coordinator
Pirjo Helander-Björkwall, Project Coordinator
Marja Järvi, Controller
Kiia Kivekäs, HR Secretary
Marjo Korhonen, Study Secretary
Vuokko Meriläinen, Practical Training Supervisor
Kirsti Pitkänen, Financial Secretary
Marjatta Vuorinen, Secretary

Aalto University warmly congratulates all awarded.

Awarding decorations on the Independence Day for merits benefiting the country is an important national tradition in Finland. Decorations have been granted by the President of Finland to university employees based on the proposal by the university.


The article has been amended on 7 December 2015


Related news

Kuvassa näkyvät pääomasijoittaja Björn Saven ja tohtorikoulutettava Lassi Tervonen.
Honoured Published:

Björn Savén Scholarship enables postgraduate studies at a top US university

Lassi Tervonen, a doctoral student in economics, goes to Boston University to study, network and find new research ideas.
Kuva: Selim Virtanen
Honoured Published:

Medals for Aalto students in an international math competition

Selim Virtanen received a silver medal and bronze medals went to Alvar Kallio and Iiro Kumpulainen, whereas Aman Sher Agha obtained an honorary mention.
Professor Patrick Gane
Honoured Published:

Professor Patrick Gane receives the prestigious Georg-Jayme Medal

Professor Gane was awarded for his achievements in paper printing and novel pulp applications.
arts conferment ceremony
Honoured, Research & Art Published:

Media Lab alumni: Juan Carlos Vasquez

Juan Carlos Vasquez is a composer, sound artist and researcher who was awarded as the Primus Master in the Aalto ARTS conferment ceremony this summer. He has been an active member of the Media Lab as a student, researcher and lecturer and has accomplished during his years in Aalto more than many of us could even dream of.
  • Published:
  • Updated:
URL copied!