Decorations for Aalto personnel on the Independence Day 2019

Suomen Leijonan komentajamerkki

The President of Finland Sauli Niinistö grants decorations to following employees of Aalto University on the Finnish Independence Day 6 December:

Commander of the Order of the Lion of Finland

  • Dean, Professor Ingmar Björkman, School of Business
  • Provost, Professor Kristiina Mäkelä
  • Professor Martti Mäntylä, School of Science

Knight, First Class, of the Order of the White Rose of Finland

  • Professor Jari Koskinen, School of Chemical Engineering
  • Dean, Professor Gary Marquis, School of Engineering
  • Professor Esa Saarinen, School of Science
  • Vice President, Professor Anna Valtonen
  • Professor Juuso Välimäki, School of Business

Knight of the Order of the White Rose of Finland

  • University Lecturer Markku Kuuva, School of Engineering
  • HR Manager Eliisa Lassila, School of Business

Knight of the Order of the Lion of Finland

  • Development Manager Perttu Kähäri, School of Business

Cross of Merit of the Order of the White Rose of Finland

  • Senior Specialist Antti Raike, School of Arts, Design and Architecture

First Class Medal of the Order of the White Rose of Finland with golden cross

  • Coordinator Päivi Koivunen, School of Science
  • Special Laboratory Technician Jouni Pekkarinen, School of Engineering
  • HR Secretary Merja Puronaho, School of Arts, Design and Architecture

In addition, the President of Finland has granted Professor Colin Whitehouse the decoration of Knight, First Class, of the Order of the White Rose of Finland on 19 September 2019. Professor Whitehouse has been member of the Aalto University Board since 2013 and his term ends on 31 December 2019.

Awarding decorations on the Independence Day for merits benefiting the country is an important national tradition in Finland. Decorations are granted by the President of Finland to university employees based on the proposal by the university.

Warm congratulations to all awardees!

  • Published:
  • Updated:
URL copied!

Related news

Professor Marko Hinkkanen/ Aalto University/ photo: Anni Hanén
Honoured Published:

Professor Marko Hinkkanen's research group receives the SEMIKRON Innovation Award

The award is given for outstanding innovations in the field of power electronics in Europe
Mikko O. Koiviston väitöskirja The Art of Egress. Kuva Mikko Raskinen
Honoured Published:

Mikko O. Koivisto's doctoral dissertation was awarded at the Most Beautiful Books 2019 competition

Mikko O. Koivisto's dissertation The Art of Egress: Madness, Horror, and the Pedagogy of Depsychiatrization has been selected for the Most Beautiful Books 2019 collection. The book was designed by Tuomas Kortteinen and printed by Unigrafia.
Kuva: Unto Rautio
Honoured Published:

School of Science awards best doctoral theses of 2019

Out of the 59 dissertations awarded by the School of Science last year, 6 were celebrated for their especially high quality, impact and originality.
Mathias Fontell/Vuoden nuori fyysikko 2019/Aalto University/School of Electrical Engineering/Image: Laura Hujanen
Honoured Published:

Aalto University alumnus Mathias Fontell receives Young Physicist Prize 2019

The award-winning master's thesis in space technology focuses on solving problems related to radio wave propagation in the upper layers of the atmosphere.