Best strategy thesis awards to Industrial Engineering and Management students

Student Susanna Tamminen was the winner and Lasse Mäki came second in the annual thesis awards contest of The Strategic Management Society of Finland.
Kuva: Unto Rautio.
Photo: Unto Rautio.

Awarded master thesis

1. prize (2000 e): Susanna Tamminen: Becoming an ecosystem: A case study of an emerging ecosystem from multiple viewpoints (Aalto University, School of Science). The thesis was supervised by Professor Riitta Smeds and Doctoral Student Ulriikka Järvihaavisto.

2. prize (750€) Lasse Mäki: Everyday strategy making in action: Emergence of strategic options in asset management service development of an engineering company (Aalto University, School of Science). The thesis was supervised by Professor Marina Biniari and Director Saku Mäihäniemi.

Awarded doctoral dissertations

Excellent dissertation (1500€): Katharina Cepa: Digitalizing interorganizational relationships - How technology-induced transparency and digital mediation shape collaborative dynamics (School of Business, Department of Management Studies). The doctoral dissertation was supervised by Professor Henri Schildt.

Taneli Vaskelainen from the University of Jyväskylä won the main prize in this category (4000€) and Jarno Einolander's dissertation (University of Vaasa) was assessed excellent as well (1500€).


The Strategic Management Society of Finland (SSJS) is a leading network for strategy experts in Finland. SSJS is an insightful, influential and inquisitive society for strategy professionals. SSJS promotes learning and networking of our members and supports strategic expertise of Finnish enterprises and organizations.

Original news article in Finnish

  • Published:
  • Updated:
URL copied!

Related news

Photo: Nokia Foundation.
Honoured Published:

Nokia Foundation award given to Mikko Möttönen for quantum-computing research

Professor Mikko Möttönen has dedicated his research to new technology that is now being used in the development of commercial quantum computing.
Aalto-Helsinki team 2020 photo: Markus Sommers
Honoured Published:

Aalto-Helsinki student team awarded gold medal in iGEM 2020 Giant Jamboree

The student team's awarded solution tackles pharmaceutical pollution in wastewaters.
Jukka Luoma
Honoured Published:

Jukka Luoma, Teacher of the Year 2020

The Prodeko Guild of the Department of Industrial Engineering and Management chose Professor Jukka Luoma as the Teacher of the Year 2020.
Aalto University alumnus Asad Awan.
Honoured, Research & Art Published:

Alumnus Asad Awan awarded for the best doctoral thesis in the field of technology

Awan’s doctoral research deals with the control methods for more efficient electric motors, which could replace traditional induction motors in industrial applications and help reduce the carbon footprint of motor driven systems