Aalto University Professor Emeritus Yrjö Sotamaa awarded major design prize in China

The Frontier Design Prize 2023 was awarded to the former long-time rector of the University of Art and Design Helsinki.
Yrjö Sotamaa receives Frontier Design Prize 2023

On the 26th of September 2023, the Shanghai Institute of Design Innovation has awarded the RMB 1,000,000 Frontier Design Prize 2023 to Yrjö Sotamaa, former long-time rector of the University of Art and Design Helsinki.

A prestigious international jury of 20 members named the prize criteria as follows: "Professor Yrjö Sotamaa has been dedicated to pushing the boundaries of design and innovation education. During his tenure as the rector of the University of Art and Design Helsinki, he not only transformed it into the premier design school in Northern Europe but also successfully integrated design into Finland's national innovation system. He spearheaded the creation of Aalto University, which has since become the global standard for interdisciplinary innovation education.

Additionally, he played a pivotal role in establishing CUMULUS, the preeminent global association for art and design education and research."

  • Published:
  • Updated:

Read more news

Nomaji landscap architects Kaapelipuisto park view. Photo Tommy Kankkonen
Awards and Recognition Published:

2023 State Prize for Architecture awarded to Nomaji Landscape Architects

Aalto University researcher and long-time lecturer Mari Ariluoma is a partner in Nomaji, and researcher Caroline Moinel a Nomaji designer.
Nokia Säätiön tunnustuspalkinto emeritusprofessori Antti Räisäselle radiotekniikan tutkimuksen ja opetuksen kehittämisestä
Awards and Recognition Published:

Nokia Foundation grants Professor Emeritus Antti Räisänen a recognition award for achievements in radio engineering research and education

Professor Emeritus Antti Räisänen, is a pioneer in the scientific research of higher radio frequencies and is known for his relentless passion for developing radio engineering education.
Building 2030 - Aalto Pioneering Excellence Award 2023
Awards and Recognition Published:

The Building 2030 wants to make Finland's construction industry the most reliable in the world

The Aalto Pioneering Excellence Award 2023 was awarded to the Building 2030 consortium, led by Olli Seppänen and Antti Peltokorven, which includes 21 companies.
Juha Heinoselle parhaan väitöskirjan palkinto. Kuva: Jari Härkönen
Awards and Recognition Published:

Juha Heinonen receives TEK’s and TFiF’s best dissertation award

In his doctoral thesis, an Aalto University alum developed a loss-free radiation sensor which is already on the way to the global market with mass production just getting started.