Management of School of Engineering

Degree Programme Committee

The School of Engineering Degree Programme is an academic body charged with administering bachelor's and master's degree education at the school.
People in Learning Center

The duties of the School of Engineering Degree Programme Committee cover the administrative tasks related to degree education – this includes the evaluation and approval of bachelor's and master's theses, decisions on degree programme development as well as quality assurance and feedback processing.

The degree programme committee also prepares proposals for the Academic Committee for Engineering regarding degree programme curricula, degree requirements and admission criteria.

The administration of the Master's Programme in Advanced Energy Solutions is handled by a separate degree programme committee.

Degree programme committee membership

The committee has a minimum of seven members from the degree programmes represented in the committee. At least four of the members are elected from among teachers – of which at least two must be professors – and three are elected from among students by decision of the Aalto University Student Union. One of the professors is nominated as the committee chair and a vice chair is selected by the committee from among the professor members.

The term of office for the degree programme committee is four years. The term of office for the committee's student members is one year.

Current members 

Deputies of committee members given in parentheses.

  • Teachers (2023-2025)
    • Jani Romanoff, puheenjohtaja
    • Marko Keskinen (Heidi Falkenbach)
    • Maaria Nordman (Claudio Roncoli)
    • Gerhard Fink ( Wojciech Solowski)
    • Jukka Tuhkuri (Tua Björklund)
  • Students (2024)
    • Patrik Hoppania (Aino Tornivaara)
    • Kivi Knuuti
    • Linnea Mikkola (Otto Sorvo)

Presenting officials of the committee are Mirka Jalonen, Börje Helenius, Jaana Kauppi, Päivi Kauppinen, Katri Koistinen, Saara Kanerva, Erika Ruohonen, Saara Sokolnicki, Sanni Hallén, Aino Roms, Minna Marin, Suvi Jämsä and Helena Litma (secretary of the committee).

Meetings and deadlines

Below, you will find the committee's meeting dates as well as their associated deadlines and decision dates for thesis topic applications and approval of completed theses.

Dates marked as No meeting are aimed for bachelor's degree students and those master's degree students whose thesis has been approved in a previous meeting and wish to graduate.

Meetings and deadlines for 2024
Deadline for applications (Monday) Meeting date (Monday) Decision date (Wednesday) Graduation ceremony
Mon 20.11.2023  Mon 11.12.2023 Wed 13.12.2023 Wed 13.3.2024
Fri 29.12.2023  Mon 22.1.2024 Wed 24.1.2024 Wed 13.3.2024
Mon 29.1.2024*) no meeting *) Wed 14.2.2024 Wed 13.3.2024
Mon 19.2.2024 Mon 11.3.2024 Wed 13.3.2024 Wed 12.6.2024
Mon 25.3.2024*) no meeting *) Wed 10.4.2024 Wed 12.6.2024
Mon 29.4.2024 Mon 20.5.2024 Wed 22.5.2024 Wed 12.6.2024
Mon 27.5.2024 Mon 10.6.2024 Wed 12.6.2024 Wed 2.10.2024
Mon 24.6.2024*) no meeting *) Wed 10.7.2024 Wed 2.10.2024
Wed 31.7.2024 Mon 19.8.2024 Wed 21.8.2024 Wed 2.10.2024
Mon 26.8.2024*) no meeting *) Wed 11.9.2024 Wed 2.10.2024
Mon 30.9.2024  Mon 21.10.2024 Wed 23.10.2024 2025
Thu 31.10.2024*) no meeting *) Wed 13.11.2024 2025
Mon 18.11.2024 Mon 9.12.2024 Wed 11.12.2024 2025
Tue 31.12.2024 January 2025 January 2025 2025


Helena Litma

Koordinaattori, opintoasiat
  • Published:
  • Updated: