The LIBER Centre of Excellence

HYBER Symposia

Our annual symposia bring together experts from HYBER-related research areas from all around the world.
Aalto University/HYBER Symposium
photo credit: Johannes Haataja

Loading table of contents
Photo: Johannes Haataja

HYBER-FinnCERES Symposium 2019

In 2019, the HYBER symposium was held as a joint event with the new FinnCERES Competence Centre for the Materials Bioeconomy at Wanha Satama, Katajanokka, Helsinki, on 15-17 May 2019. Thank you to all those who participated and made the event so enjoyable!

2019 invited speaker list:
- Akif Tezcan, University of California San Diego
Darshil Shah, University of Cambridge
Johannes (Bas) Overvelde, AMOLF
Daniel Harries, Hebrew University of Jerusalem
Helmut Cölfen, University of Konstanz
Markus Linder, Aalto University
Jaakko Timonen, Aalto University
Ilja Voets, Eindhoven University of Technology
Steve Eichhorn, University of Bristol
Akira Isogai, University of Tokyo
- Lennart Bergström, Stockholm University
Antje Potthast, University of Natural Resources and Life Sciences Vienna
José Carlos del Río, Institute of Natural Resources and Agrobiology of Seville
You-Lo Hsieh, University of California Davis 
Raul Fangueiro, University of Minho
Julien Bras, Grenoble Institute of Engineering 
Orlando Rojas, Aalto University

See the detailed program here:

Image Gallery: HYBER-FinnCERES Symposium 2019


    HYBER Symposium 2018

    HYBER Symposium 2018 took place on 24-25 May in Dipoli, the newly renovated main building of Aalto University.

    2018 invited speaker list:
    - Marina Ruths, University of Massachusetts Lowell
    Chris Holland, University of Sheffield
    Carlos Driemeier, Brazilian Bioethanol Science and Technology Laboratory (CTBE)
    Liangbing Hu, University of Maryland College Park
    Emily Cranston, McMaster University
    Dong Soo Hwang, POSTECH, Pohang, S. Korea
    Tuomas Knowles, University of Cambridge
    Guang Yang, Huazhong University of Science & Technology Wuhan
    José Carlos Rodríguez-Cabello, Bioforge, Universidad de Valladolid
    Jan van Hest, University of Technology in Eindhoven
    Markus Linder, Aalto University
    Stanislav Gorb, University of Kiel

    See the detailed program here:

    HYBER Symposium 2017

    In 2017, the Symposium was held on 18-19 May at the Marina Congress Center, Helsinki

    2017 invited speaker list:
    - Solange Mussatto, DTU Biosustain, Denmark
    - Francisco Vilaplana, KTH, Sweden
    - Pablo Zavattieri, Purdue University, USA 
    - Marleen Kamperman, Wageningen University, Netherlands
    - Kiyo Igarashi, VTT 
    - Andre Studart, ETH Zurich, Switzerland
    - Hendrik Hähl, Saarland University, Germany
    - Bradley Olsen, MIT, USA 
    - Margarida Casal, CBMA , Braga Portugal
    - Mark Bathe, MIT, USA 
    - Nicole Steinmetz, Case Western Reserve University
    - Alan Rowan, The University of Queensland

    HYBER Symposium 2016

    In 2016, the Symposium was held on 12-13 May at Kalastajantorppa, Helsinki.

    2016 invited speaker list:
    - Aránzazu del Campo, INM - Leibniz Institute for New Materials
    - Jan Lagerwall, Université du Luxembourg
    - Thomas M. Hermans, Institut de Science et d’Ingénierie Supramoléculaires
    - Michael Dickey, Microsoft Seattle (North Carolina State University)
    - Svetlana Santer, Universität Potsdam 
    - Ron Weiss, MIT
    - Ali Miserez, NTU
    - Tao Deng, Shanghai Jiao Tong University
    - Roman Jerala, National Institute of Chemistry, Ljubljana
    - David Kisailius, University of California
    - Arun Ramachandran, University of Toronto
    - Andreas Herrman, University of Groningen
    - Laurent Corté, Centre des Matériaux MINES Paristech

    HYBER Symposium 2015

    In 2015, the Symposium was held on 12-13 May at the Hanasaari Conference Hotel, Espoo.

    2015 invited speaker list:
    - Neel Joshi, Harvard University
    - Matthew Harrington, Max Planck Institute of Colloids and Interfaces
    - Stephen Eichhorn, University of Exeter
    - Franziska Thomas, University of Bristol
    - Ingo Bugert, ETH Zürich
    - Albena Lederer, IPF Dresden
    - Silvia Vignolini, University of Cambridge
    - Thomas Scheibel, Universität Bayreuth
    - Rafal Klajn, Weizmann Institute of Science
    - Oren A. Scherman, University of Cambridge
    - Marcelo Diaz, Aalto University
    - Redouane Borsali, CERMAV, CNRS

    • Published:
    • Updated: