Department of Electronics and Nanoengineering

Space Physics

The Space Plasma Physics and Space Technology Group at the Aalto University is based on the Otaniemi campus in Espoo, West of Helsinki, Finland. The group belongs to the Department of Electronics and Nanoengineering as part of the School of Electrical Engineering (ELEC) of Aalto University.
space weather

We specialise in the numerical modelling of space plasmas and their interactions with weakly magnetized bodies. We are also closely involved in space technology and instruments onboard several current space missions from the European Space Agency, such as Rosetta, Mars Express, Venus Express, or the upcoming BepiColombo and JUICE missions. The modelling tools we develop serve as state-of-the-art interpreters of the complex interactions between solar wind particles and the studied solar system object.

Space Physics group is part of the Department of Electronics and Nanoengineering, Aalto University. The group is located in the Maarintie 8 building.

Check out more information on our group's website at

Group members

Latest publications

High-energy particle enhancements in the solar wind upstream Mercury during the first BepiColombo flyby: SERENA/PICAM and MPO-MAG observations

Tommaso Alberti, W. Sun, Ali Varsani, D. Heyner, S Orsini, Anna Milillo, J.A. Slavin, J. M. Raines, Alessandro Aronica, H.-U. Auster, Stas Barabash, Enrico De Angelis, Iannis Dandouras, Riku Järvinen, H. Jeszenszky, Esa Kallio, A. Kazakov, G. Laky, S. A. Livi, Valeria Mangano, Stefano Massetti, M Moroni, A. Mura, R. Noschese, Christina Plainaki, F. Plaschke, I. Richter, R. Rispoli, R. Sordini, Peter Wurz 2023 Astronomy & Astrophysics

Solar Orbiter Data-Model Comparison in Venus' Induced Magnetotail

Katerina Stergiopoulou, Riku Jarvinen, David J. Andrews, Niklas J.T. Edberg, Andrew P. Dimmock, Esa Kallio, Moa Persson, Yuri V. Khotyaintsev 2023 Journal of geophysical research: Space physics

Ultra-low Frequency Foreshock Waves and Ion Dynamics at Mars

Riku Järvinen, Esa Kallio, Tuija Pulkkinen 2022 Journal of geophysical research: Space physics

Radar – CubeSat Transionospheric HF Propagation Observations: Suomi 100 Satellite and EISCAT HF Facility

Esa Kallio, Antti Kero, Ari-Matti Harri, Antti Kestilä, Anita Aikio, Mathias Fontell, Riku Järvinen, Kirsti Kauristie, Olli Knuuttila, Petri Koskimaa, Jauaries Loyala, Juha Lukkari, Amin Modabberian, Joonas Niittyniemi, Jouni Rynö, Heikki Vanhamäki, Erik Varberg 2022 Radio Science

Ultra-low frequency waves in the Hermean magnetosphere: On the role of the morphology of the magnetic field and the foreshock

Esa Kallio, Riku Järvinen, Stefano Massetti, Tommaso Alberti, Anna Milillo, S Orsini, Enrico De Angelis, G. Laky, J.A. Slavin, J. M. Raines, Tuija Pulkkinen 2022 Geophysical Research Letters

In-Space Radiometric Calibration of Nanosatellite Camera

Olli Knuuttila, Esa Kallio, Noora Partamies, Mikko Syrjäsuo, Kirsti Kauristie, Viktoria Sofieva, Ari-Matti Harri, Antti Kestilä, Jarmo Kivekäs, Petri Koskimaa, Jouni Rynö, Johanna Tamminen, Petri Kärhä, Juha-Matti Lukkari, Arno Alho, Tuija Pulkkinen 2022 JOURNAL OF SMALL SATELLITES

Newly Digitized Data From Scandinavian Magnetometer Array Network Shows Large Regional Differences in Magnetic Environment

O. Kärhä, E. I. Tanskanen 2022 Journal of geophysical research: Space physics

Non-thermal escape of the Martian CO2 atmosphere over time: Constrained by Ar isotopes

H.I.M. Lichtenegger, Sergey Dyadechkin, Manuel Scherf, H. Lammer, Raven Adam, Esa Kallio, Ute Amerstorfer, Riku Järvinen 2022 Icarus

Low-emittance copper-coating system using atomic-layer-deposited aluminum oxide

Leo Nyman, Jiří Frolec, Marko Pudas, Tomáš Králík, Věra Musilová, Esa Kallio 2022 Thin Solid Films

Overview of ground-based testing of components made from electrically-conducting doped peek for space applications

Leo Nyman, Kirsi Kukko, Antti Kestilä, Vesa Myllymäki, Jarkko Lohilahti, Joni Kumpulainen, Marko Vehkamäki, Mika Salmi, Ugo Lafont, Esa Kallio 2022 Proceedings of the 20th European Conference on Composite Materials - Composites Meet Sustainability
More information on our research in the Research database.
Research database

Associate Professor Esa Kallio
Email: esa.kallio at
Tel.: +358 50 4205 857

Postal address:
Department of Electronics and Nanoengineering
Aalto University School of Electrical Engineering
P.O. Box 15500, 00076 Aalto, Finland

Visiting address:
Maarintie 8, 02150 Espoo

  • Published:
  • Updated:
URL copied!