Study Programmes and Networks

Joined Energy Education Programs.
Three students sitting next to a wooden table, and studying. Two of them have laptops in front of them. Photo: Unto Rautio

Master's Programme in Advanced Energy Solutions

The programme consists of four majors, which are coordinated by the School of Engineering (ENG), School of Chemical Engineering (CHEM) and School of Electrical Engineering (ELEC). Though coordinated by different schools, the teaching and selection of courses is cross-disciplinary. The program is directed by Prof. Martti Larmi (ENG) and it also involves other professors such as Risto Kosonen (ENG), Matti Lehtonen (ELEC) and Pekka Oinas (CHEM).

Energy Science Initative (ESCI)

Aalto Energy Science Initiative (ESCI) is a strategic initiative hosted by the Aalto University School of Science (SCI) focusing on multidisciplinary education and student involvement around timely energy topics. ESCI includes such as activities as Multi-disciplinary Energy Studies (MES) and Energy Garage (EG). ESCI is hosted by the School of Science, with the lead of Prof. Peter Lund, but it also involves people across the whole university.

Aalto Nuclear Safety Minor Programme

Aalto Nuclear Safety is an MSc-level multidisciplinary network-based minor, which combines all the nuclear energy related activities at Aalto University. The purpose of the program is to respond to the needs of the Finnish nuclear energy sector, which will require 100-200 new highly educated personnel yearly by the year 2025. Prof. Filip Tuomisto is the contact person for the program.

Sustainable Aalto

Social responsibility and sustainability are an integral part of all activities at Aalto University. They build on the University’s values and strategy, and are implemented into research, learning and other operations of the University. Campus development also has a key role in implementing and creating new models for sustainable practices. The contact person for Sustainable Aalto is Dr. Annukka Jyrämä.

Doctoral Education Network in Energy Technology (DENET)

The DENET network offers a forum for doctoral students and their supervisors in the field of energy technology. The network is coordinated by Aalto University. The other member universities are University of Helsinki, Åbo Akademi University, Tampere University of Technology, Lappeenranta University of Technology, University of Vaasa and University of Oulu.

Contact the coordinator:

Jenni Lehtonen
[email protected]
Tel. +358 50 3200 144

  • Published:
  • Updated: