Seven new Honorary Doctorates in Technology to be conferred at Aalto University

The schools of technology will confer honorary doctorates on seven eminent persons in the fields of science, technology and architecture.

The degrees will be awarded at a ceremony to take place on 15 June 2018 in Dipoli, Otaniemi.

This will be the fourth joint Ceremonial Conferment of Doctoral Degrees organised by the Aalto University schools of technology: the School of Chemical Technology, the School of Electrical Engineering, the School of Engineering and the School of Science, and the Department of Architecture in the School of Arts, Design and Architecture.

The persons to be awarded Honorary Doctorates in Technology are as follows:

    Professor Jon Crowcroft, University of Cambridge
    Director General Lea Kauppi, Finnish Environment Institute (SYKE)
    Architect Kaarina Löfström
    Professor Hüseyin Şehitoğlu, University of Illinois
    Professor John Shawe-Taylor, University College London
    Board Chair Risto Siilasmaa, Nokia
    Professor Ichiro Terasaki, Nagoya University
Presentations of the honorary doctorates can be found on the website (>

Decisions concerning the recipients of the honorary doctorates in the ceremonial conferment of doctoral degrees in 2018 have been made by the academic committees of each of the schools of technology. According to Aalto University’s administrative guidelines, a school may, in connection with a ceremonial conferment of doctoral degrees, but also at other times, award an honorary doctorate and associated symbols to a person who, through his or her scientific or artistic activities or through merits obtained in the promotion of science or arts or other cultural activity, is considered worthy of such recognition.

The conferment ceremonies will be organised by the School of Engineering, and Professor Kirsi Virrantaus from the Department of Built Environment will act as conferrer.

The Ceremonial Conferment of Doctoral Degrees is part of the Aalto Ceremony Week. Further information:

  • Published:
  • Updated:
URL copied!

Read more news

Peter Liljeroth
Appointments Published:

Peter Liljeroth becomes new vice-dean at School of Science

Liljeroth is responsible for research and impact
Omnia Makerspace ja studio
Campus, Cooperation Published:

Colliding students and startups in A Grid’s Omnia Makerspace

Omnia Makerspace was launched in startup hub A Grid’s first floor opposite Restaurant Factory in April 2019. Since then, the space has evolved from an empty basement into a flourishing workspace where students and startups collide.
View of a meeting room with multicolored chairs in Dipoli / Photo: Aalto University, Markus Sommers
Research & Art Published:

MMD Journal Club

Multifunctional Materials Design research group members present publications from high impact scientific journals
Maria Joutsenvirta
Research & Art Published:

Theory U - How to lead from the future while it emerges?

Creative people, like artists and scientists, invent and create the new by stepping from the visible world into the invisible world of imagination, and then returning back into the visible. We all can develop our sensitivity, intuition and leadership capabilities to increase creativity.