Oskari Vilamo Fund awarded the best theses on building trade

Three doctoral dissertations and three master's thesis were awarded in Aalto University.
Oskari Vilamon palkinnot
The Oskari Vilamo award was given to Aalto University graduates Anna Antonova (left.), Tuomas Alapieti, Monica Löfman and Iina Maso.

At the end of November, the Oskari Vilamo Fund, managed by the Foundation of Economic Education, awarded the best construction theses completed in 2022. In total, three dissertations and eight diploma theses were awarded.

The doctoral dissertation prizes of this year have been granted to D.Sc.(Tech.) Monica Löfman, D.Sc.(Tech.) Tuomas Alapieti and D.Sc.(Tech.) Anna Antonova  from Aalto University. Each grant is 3 500 euros.

Three out of eight master's thesis awards were granted to Aalto University graduates: M.Sc.(Arch) Emma Komi, M.Sc.(Tech.) Iina Maso and Architect George Michelin, who received the title award of the Heikki Pentti fund.

The other master's thesis awards went to graduates from the University of Tampere: M.Sc.(Tech.) Antti Rahko, M.Sc.(Tech.) Pyry-Herkko Sadeaho, M.Sc.(Tech.) Ilkka Tuurala, M.Sc.(Tech.) Lauri Talus and M.Sc.(Tech.) Henna Hietikko-Kaukola.
Each grant is 2 000 euros. 


Oskari Vilamo Fund – Developer of Building Trade
Oskari Vilamo Fund belongs to the Foundation of Economic Education. It is named after the Councellor Oskari Vilamo, and its purpose is to further the high-grade study on building branch. In the Anniversary of 75 years in 1985, Lemminkäinen LLC founded a Fund to credit of Councellor Oskari Vilamo, the leading person in the history of the company. The Fund has awarded best theses already from 1993. So far, the Fund has awarded 55 PhD- 20 Licentiate- and 135 MSc-theses, including the awards of today from 2018. The Fund is a special Fund of the Foundation of Economic Education. YIT has been contributing the fund since year 2018.

  • Published:
  • Updated:
URL copied!

Read more news

Sirje Liukko
Awards and Recognition Published:

Decorations of the President of the Republic to Sirje Liukko

Presidential Medal of Honour has been awarded to Planning Officer Sirje Liukko at the School of Chemical Engineering.
An illustration of planting a tree on a grave and the tree's growth
Awards and Recognition Published:

Landscape architect Anu Hakola receives Lappset prize

Hakola’s Master’s thesis examines memorial trees and their significance as part of the commemoration of the deceased.
Malli kävelee yleisön reunustamalla catwalkilla kohti kameraa
Awards and Recognition Published:

Ruusa Vuori wins ALPHA Award 2024

Aalto University students were victorious in the ALPHA competition for Nordic fashion schools.
Hanne Ludvigsen
Awards and Recognition Published:

Hanne Ludvigsen appointed Fellow of the Optical Society

This prestigious honour recognises Hanne Ludvigsen's outstanding contributions to the field of photonic crystal fibres and optical sensors