Lukas Ahrenberg elected Computer Science teacher of the year 2022

The teacher of the year was announced at the CS Department meeting on Wednesday 14 December 2022.
Lukas Ahrenberg

University teacher Lukas Ahrenberg was elected as the Computer Science teacher of the year 2022. Ahrenberg knows how to organize a structured hybrid course. He received special mentions on the course materials, which provided a lot of support for completing the course successfully. The students described the course as reasonable and suitably challenging. Ahrenberg is praised by students for his enthusiastic teaching and genuine interest in students and their learning success.

Picks from the course feedback of CS-A1120 Programming 2:

  • I really appreciate the teacher’s effort in making both the in-person lectures and video lectures available to cater to the preferences of different students. He and the TAs are very helpful, and I’ve learnt a lot from them.
  • Lukas Ahrenberg was and is awesome. Always ready to help and taking care of everyone. The excercise sessions were a huge help. I actually got very motivated about programming during this courseand really started to consider changing my minor. These programming courses have been always so well implemented, and I always learn so much.
  • Lukas was an amazing guy, great lectures and a good way of handling things when issues arose.

The teacher award has been granted since 2007. This year, a total of 21 proposals were received and 10 teachers nominated for the award. The teacher of the year receives a certificate of honour and a reward of 1000 euros.

Department of Computer Science

To foster future science and society.

Read more
Aerial photo of Computer Science Building at Aalto University campus
  • Published:
  • Updated:
URL copied!

Read more news

Fluffy, colourful design by fashion design graduate Tuuli-Tytti Koivula, Aalto University
Honoured Published:

Fashion design graduate Tuuli-Tytti Koivula wins Alpha Award23

Fashion design graduate Tuuli-Tytti Koivula from Aalto University School of Arts, Design and Architecture, Finland won the top prize at this season's Alpha show 31 January, 2023 in Copenhagen, Denmark.
People with laptops having a meeting around a table.
Studies Published:

First time manager training gives guidance for new supervisors, team leaders and project managers

Students will find out what kind of skills and knowledge a person starting in their first managerial position should have.
The Future-led Learning Podcast is hosted by Riikka Evans. Photograph: Janne Illman.
University Published:

How to facilitate teamwork? Listen to a podcast

New season of Future-led learning podcast takes you to a very practical level of working with students. This season includes topical issues such as academic advising, inclusion, co-teaching and sustainability. The first episode takes you to the world of well-functioning teams and what is requires from teachers.
Learning Centre graphics
Research & Art, Studies Published:

Help with Information Retrieval

Information specialists of the Learning Centre are there for you on Wednesdays from 2pm to 3pm in the VRC-room and via Zoom