Decorations on 2016 Independence Day

12 employees of Aalto University awarded.

The President of Finland Sauli Niinistö grants decorations to following members of Aalto University faculty and staff on the Finnish Independence Day 6 December:

Knight, First Class, of the Order of the White Rose of Finland
Professor Pirjo Hirvonen
Vice Dean Sirkka-Liisa Jämsä-Jounela
Academy Professor Riitta Salmelin
Professor Kai Sirén
Professor Herbert Sixta

Knight, First Class, of the order of the Lion of Finland
Director, Human Resources Tiia Tuomi

Knight of the Order of the White Rose of Finland
Senior University Lecturer Markku Tinnilä
Lecturer Erja Laurila-Hellman

Cross of Merit of the Order of the Lion of Finland
Operating Engineer Pertti Kiiski

First Class Medal of the Order of the White Rose of Finland with golden cross
Student Affairs Secretary Pirkko Hiort af Ornäs
Practical Training Supervisor Janne Hirvonen
Chief Accountant Kaija Koskelo
Executive Assistant Leena Meilahti

Aalto University warmly congratulates all awarded.

Awarding decorations on the Independence Day for merits benefiting the country is an important national tradition in Finland. Decorations have been granted by the President of Finland to university employees based on the proposal by the university.

  • Published:
  • Updated:
URL copied!

Read more news

TFiF-kandityön palkinnon voittaneet opiskelijat.
Honoured, Studies Published:

Three Aalto students were awarded for the best bachelor's thesis in Swedish in the field of technology

TFiF's awards went to Linda Autio, Isak Jungerstam and Fanny Hakala.
Kestävyysraportointikilpailun 2022 voittajat
Cooperation, Honoured Published:

Finland’s top sustainability reports are of high quality

Stora Enso won the overall competition for the third time
Flowers / Aalto University
Honoured, Studies Published:

Dean of the School of Business awarded successful students

Dean’s List Scholarships in Academic Year 2021–2022 were given to 28 students
Mahafugur Rahman. Picture: Jari Härkönene
Honoured, Research & Art Published:

F. M. Mahafugur Rahman receives TEK’s and TFiF’s best dissertation award

In his dissertation, Aalto University alumnus presented real-time control algorithms for next-generation renewable energy production