Metsähovi Radio Observatory

Metsähovi people

Metsähovi radio observatory hosts people from several units within Aalto University, as well as other universities. Here are listed the contact information for people working at Metsähovi, including the observatory staff as well as researchers employed by other departments and universities.

Main contacts


People working at Metsähovi Radio Observatory

Below is an alphabetical list of all individuals working in Metsähovi Radio Observatory, regardless of their home unit or university. Under the list you can find links to personal profiles of many people, with further information (email, publications, etc.)

The last column indicates if the person is officially employed by another institute; in these cases, the person has a double affiliation:

  • ELE is the Department of Electronics and Nanoengineering, Aalto University,
  • FINCA is the Finnish Centre for Astronomy with ESO - FINCA, University of Turku

Notice that the phone numbers are all landline numbers (no mobile phones are allowed near observatory), and only the two last digits change.

Name Position Landline phone Responsibilities / area Institute
Juha Aatrokoski M.Sc. (tech.), Operations engineer +358 29 442 48 35   Tech: IT  
Marco Berton Ph.D., postdoctoral researcher +358 29 442 48 37 AGN science FINCA
Irene Björklund M.Sc. (tech.), Doctoral candidate   AGN science  
Wara Chamani MSc, Doctoral candidate +358 29 442 48 33 VLBI science, AGN science ELE
Kjetil Holmberg Laboratory technician   Tech: Mechanics  
Talvikki Hovatta D.Sc. (tech.), Academy research fellow   AGN science, VLBI Science FINCA
Juha Kallunki PhD, Laboratory engineer +358 29 442 48 52 Tech. team leader; Solar research, VLBI equipment  
Petri Kirves MSc (tech.), Operations engineer +358 29 442 48 43 Tech: Receivers  
Karri Koljonen D.Sc. (tech.), Postdoctoral researcher +358 29 442 48 50 Microquasar science FINCA
Anne Lähteenmäki D.Sc. (tech.), professor +358 29 442 48 47 AGN science, teaching ELE
Elvira Martikainen B.Sc. (tech), research trainee   AGN science  
Derek McKay Ph.D., postdoctoral researcher   VLBI science, technology FINCA
Ari Mujunen MSc (tech.), Laboratory engineer +358 29 442 48 45 Tech: IT, VLBI equipment  
Erkki Oinaskallio Laboratory technician +358 29 442 48 51 Tech: Technician, support  
Tuomas Savolainen Docent, Senior Scientis +358 29 442 48 55 VLBI science, AGN science, teaching ELE
Sofia Suutarinen M.Sc. (tech.), Doctoral candidate   AGN science  
Joni Tammi PhD, Staff scientist  +358 29 442 48 58 Director; AGN science, Solar research, teaching  
Merja Tornikoski  Docent, Senior scientist +358 29 442 48 48 AGN science, teaching  
Rafael Vera Rodriguez MSc, Doctoral candidate +358 29 442 48 53 AGN science ELE
Minghui Xu Ph.D., postdoctoral researcher   VLBI science, AGN science ELE

Radio astronomy group (ELE)

  • Published:
  • Updated:
URL copied!