Honorary doctors' panel discussions and seminars

As part of the Ceremony week of 2022 at Aalto University, the ten new honorary doctors of technology will appear in two panel discussions and four seminars. The detailed programme will be updated. Welcome!
Aalto logo outside campus. Photo: Anni Kaaria
Aalto University campus

Aalto University celebrates the exceptional careers of the ten new honorary doctors in technology during the Ceremony week of 2022. Join the two panel discussions and seminars of your choice. The panels will be moderated and there will be time reserved for questions from the audience.

Preliminary programme, subject to changes
Time Event Panelists or key note speakers Venue
10.00 - 11.00 Panel 1: Quantum Technology - The science and science policy Moderator: Heikki Mannila (Aalto University)
Panelists: Jürgen Mlynek (EU Flagship of Quantum Technology), Antti-Pekka Jauho (University of Denmark), Jukka Pekola (InstituteQ), Sabrina Maniscalco (Algorithmiq)
Dipoli, Lumituuli
11.00 - 11.30 Coffee and networking   Dipoli, Lumituuli
11.30 - 12.30 Panel 2: Deep Tech Innovations - From university to business Moderator: Nina Pulkkis (Science journalist)
Panelists: Mårten Mickos (HackerOne), Marjo Miettinen (Ensto Oy), Tuula Teeri (IVA), Tuomas Tenkanen (Mobidiag Oy)
Dipoli, Lumituuli
14.30 - 16.30 Seminars with varying schedules Luísa Coutinho (University of Lisbon), Anjana Devi (Ruhr-University, Bochum), Juha Kostiainen (YIT), Juan Mosig (EPFL), Tuomas Tenkanen (Mobidiag Oy) Various campus locations


Read the introductions of the honorary doctors. You will find the introductions of Sabrina Maniscalco and Jukka Pekola below.

Register here for the panel discussions.

All events are held on the university campus in Otaniemi. The programme will partly be streamed online. The links will be added on this page on the day of the event.


Jukka Pekola is a professor of quantum nanophysics at Aalto University (Finland). He and his group study mesoscopic physics and quantum sensors.  His work on the heat transport of nanostructures has set new standards in this field and his experimental studies in the middle ground between classical and quantum physics are unique on a world scale.  The micro and nano-scale thermometers and refrigerators he has developed are cutting-edge achievements in nanophysics.

Prof. Pekola is the Director of the national centre of excellence in research, Quantum Technology Finland (QTF), Acting Director of the Finnish quantum institute, InstituteQ, and the Scientific Director of the national research infrastructure for micro, nano and quantum technologies, OtaNano. He is a recipient of a distinguished ERC Advanced Grant, two-time Academy Professor and recipient of the Simon Memorial Prize 2020.

Sabrina Maniscalco is a professor of quantum information and logic at the University of Helsinki, and an Adjunct Professor at Aalto University (Finland). She and her group studies theory of open quantum systems, and in particular non-Markovian quantum processes. She has coordinated several international and interdisciplinary projects and is recognised as one of the leading experts in quantum technologies.

Prof. Maniscalco is the Vice Director of QTF, Leader of Education activities of InstituteQ, and serves in the scientific advisory board of severals international institutions, such as the Institute for Quantum Optics and Quantum Information (Austria) and the Quantum Technology initiative at CERN. She is CEO and co-founder of Algorithmiq Ltd, a startup focusing on quantum algorithms and software.


Further information: Master of ceremonies Tatu Pohjola, firstname.lastname(at)

  • Published:
  • Updated:
URL copied!