Scientific Board

The Scientific Board supports the CQE to achieve a high profile within Aalto and wider community. The board considers the big picture in the field of quantum engineering, and encourages and strengthens links between CQE and other relevant communities. It also considers and makes suggestions on planned CQE activities.
CQE Scientific Board

Christian Flindt


Christian Flindt (1977) is an Assistant Professor of Theoretical Condensed Matter Physics and Director of the Centre of Quantum Engineering at Aalto University, Finland.  His research focuses on quantum effects and electronic transport in nano-scale conductors.  Prof. Flindt graduated with a PhD degree in physics from Technical University of Denmark in 2007, worked as postdoctoral researcher at Helsinki University of Technology and at Harvard University, and then became a group leader at University of Geneva in 2011.  He joined the Department of Applied Physics at Aalto University as a faculty member in 2015.

David Gunnarsson

David Gunnarsson (1974) is a Principal Scientist and responsible for the Research & Development team at BlueFors Cryogenics Oy. His main R&D interest is new technology that aid the cryogenic quantum technology community. Prior to joining BlueFors he has worked as a Senior Scientist at VTT Technical Research Centre of Finland. He graduated as PhD in Physics from Chalmers University of Technology, Gothenburg, in 2005.

Harri Lipsanen

Harri Lipsanen (1959) is a Full Professor of Nanotechnology at Aalto University (Finland).  He is leading the Nanoscience and Advanced Materials research group in the Department of Electronics and Nanoengineering. His research focuses on experimental research of nanomaterials and nanostructures such as layered 2D materials, their hybrids, semiconductor nanowires and other quantum-confined structures. Based on these, various nanoelectronic and nanophotonic devices are developed in the national Otaniemi Research Infrastructure for Micro- and Nanotechnologies, OtaNano.

Arttu Luukanen

Arttu Luukanen (1972) is the Co-Founder and Managing Director of Asqella Ltd, a company commercializing passive multi-band submillimetre-camera technology. His current research interests include mm-wave and THz devices, circuits and imaging systems. Earlier, he has worked as as a Research Professor of Micro and Nanosystems at VTT, as the director of MilliLab – the Millimetre-wave Laboratory of Finland, and as a guest researcher at the National Institute of Standards and Technology in Boulder, Colorado, U.S.A. He has served on the International Advisory Board of the Swedish FOI-FOCUS Centre of Excellence on Sensors, Multisensors and Sensor networks, and from 2013 onwards on the International Advisory Board of the Chalmers GHz Centre. He is also an elected member of the Finnish Academy of Technical Sciences.

Sabrina Maniscalco

Sabrina Maniscalco (1974) is a Full Professor of Theoretical Physics at the Department of Physics and Astronomy, University of Turku.  She is the leader of the Turku Quantum Technology group and the Head of Theoretical Physics Laboratory of the department. In addition, she is an Adjunct Professor at the Department of Applied Physics at Aalto University, and the Vice-Director of the national Centre of Excellence – Quantum Technology Finland. Her research focuses on the theory of open quantum systems, and in particular on non-Markovian quantum processes.  The major research topics of her group are quantum technologies, quantum information theory, open quantum systems, complex quantum systems. She is passionate about public outreach and science and art projects with impressive track record. She currently coordinates an European effort in massively-collaborative online video games solving research tasks in quantum technologies by means of hybrid human-computer interaction, complemented with machine learning algorithms.

Mika Prunnila

Mika Prunnila (1974) is a Research Professor and a team leader of nanoelectronics at VTT Technical Research Centre of Finland. His research interests include various aspects of micro and nanoelectronic devices ranging from device physics and quantum effects to sensors and energy harvesting/storage.  He graduated as D.Sc.(Tech.) from the Helsinki University of Technology (current Aalto University) in 2007. During his PhD he worked as a visiting researcher at the University of Tokyo. He was awarded the Young Researcher Prize 2009  for innovation and versatility by the Finnish Foundation for Technology Promotion.

Sebastiaan van Dijken

Sebastiaan van Dijken (1973) is a Full Professor of Physics at Aalto University (Finland). He is leading the Nanomagnetism and Spintronics research group in the Department of Applied Physics. His research focuses on experimental studies of magnetic, magneto-optical, and spin transport phenomena in new functional materials and hybrid nanoscale structures. Prof. van Dijken graduated with a PhD degree in Applied Physics from the University of Twente (Netherlands) in 2000 and subsequently worked as researcher at the IBM Research Center (USA), Trinity College (Ireland), and VTT Technical Research Center of Finland. He was awarded the Vaisala Prize in Physics in 2012 and received the Millennium Distinction Award in 2015.

  • Published:
  • Updated: