School of Chemical Engineering: governance

Industrial advisory board (IAB) - School of Chemical Engineering

The Aalto CHEM Industrial Advisory Board (IAB) comprises of distinguished leaders from the corporate sector and society at large. IAB is to support Aalto CHEM leadership in an ongoing effort to enhance the School’s position as a world-class Chemical Engineering School.

Members of IAB help to ensure that Aalto CHEM, through its research and education programmes, addresses the current and future needs of companies and society. IAB also promotes the School’s abilities to access non-academic sources of know-how to shape its long-term development.

At IAB meetings, members are informed about Aalto strategy, and they are also asked to express their opinion on important decisions, programmes and development.

The members of IAB are Jyrki Ovaska, EVP, Technology (UPM), Kari Saari, VP, R&D (Kemira), Lars Peter Lindfors, SVP, Technology (Neste), Ilkka Kojo, Director, Environment and Sustainability (Outotec), Jyri Talja, VP, Technology (Kuusakoski), Simo Säynevirta, Global Technology and Product Manager Process Automation Services (ABB), Johan Engström, CTO (Andritz), Petri Vasara, Head of Global Consulting Practice (Pöyry) ja Eero Kiljunen, Operational Excellence Manager (Orion) / Scientific Officer (IBC Industrial Biotechnology Cluster Finland). The members of Aalto CHEM are Dean Janne Laine, Vice Deans Tapani Vuorinen and Sirkka-Liisa Jämsä-Jounela, Heads of department Jukka Seppälä, Herbert Sixta, Kari Laasonen and Jari Koskinen, and Manager of Corporate Relations Petri Silenius.

IAB will meet twice a year.  

  • Published:
  • Updated:
URL copied!