Mohammad Tavakkoli

Contingent Worker
Contingent Worker
T304 Dept. Applied Physics
Full researcher profile

Contact information

Phone number

Honors and awards

Gustav Komppa Award the best doctoral dissertation in Finland in the field of chemistry and related disciplines

Komppa Award is annually given since 1950 to the best doctoral dissertation in Finland in the field of chemistry and related disciplines. Each university nominates up to three Ph.D. graduate students. Finally, the Finnish Chemical Society jury selects the best Ph.D. dissertation of the year.
Award or honor granted for academic or artistic career NanoMaterials Jan 2018

Best Poster Award

Best Poster Award sponsored by ACS, 19th International Conference on the Science and Application of Nanotubes and Low-dimensional Materials (NT18) [$250], Peking University, Beijing, China.
Award or honor granted for a specific work NanoMaterials Jan 2018

The Magnus Ehrnrooth foundation Award

for the purpose: "Rational Design of Novel Catalysts for Clean Energy Production"
Award or honor granted for academic or artistic career Department of Chemistry and Materials Science Jan 2018

The best PhD dissertation Award 2017

School of Chemical Engineering, Aalto Univeristy
Award or honor granted for a specific work Department of Chemistry and Materials Science Jan 2017

Research groups

  • NanoMaterials, Visitor (Faculty)


Upcycled synthesis and extraction of carbon-encapsulated iron carbide nanoparticles for gap Plasmon applications in perovskite solar cells

Jiye Han, Kyusun Kim, Mohammad Tavakkoli, Jongmin Lee, Dawoon Kim, In Chung, Aram Lee, Keonwoo Park, Yongping Liao, Jin Wook Lee, Seoung Ki Lee, Jin Woo Oh, Hyokyung Sung, Esko Kauppinen, Il Jeon 2023 EcoMat: functional materials for green energy and environment

Large-Diameter Carbon Nanotube Transparent Conductor Overcoming Performance–Yield Tradeoff

Qiang Zhang, Jeong Seok Nam, Jiye Han, Sukanta Datta, Nan Wei, Er Xiong Ding, Aqeel Hussain, Saeed Ahmad, Viera Skakalova, Abu Taher Khan, Yong Ping Liao, Mohammad Tavakkoli, Bo Peng, Kimmo Mustonen, Dawoon Kim, In Chung, Shigeo Maruyama, Hua Jiang, Il Jeon, Esko I. Kauppinen 2022 Advanced Functional Materials

Designing of low Pt electrocatalyst through immobilization on metal@C support for efficient hydrogen evolution reaction in acidic media

Fatemeh Davodi, Geraldine Cilpa-Karhu, Jani Sainio, Mohammad Tavakkoli, Hua Jiang, Elisabeth Mühlhausen, Galina Marzun, Bilal Gökce, Kari Laasonen, Tanja Kallio 2021 Journal of Electroanalytical Chemistry

Scalable growth of single-walled carbon nanotubes with a highly uniform structure

Aqeel Hussain, Er Xiong Ding, Ben McLean, Kimmo Mustonen, Saeed Ahmad, Mohammad Tavakkoli, Alister J. Page, Qiang Zhang, Jani Kotakoski, Esko I. Kauppinen 2020 Nanoscale

Mesoporous Single-Atom-Doped Graphene-Carbon Nanotube Hybrid

Mohammad Tavakkoli, Emmanuel Flahaut, Pekka Peljo, Jani Sainio, Fatemeh Davodi, Egor V. Lobiak, Kimmo Mustonen, Esko I. Kauppinen 2020 ACS Catalysis

Roles of sulfur in floating-catalyst CVD growth of single-walled carbon nanotubes for transparent conductive film applications

Saeed Ahmad, Er-Xiong Ding, Qiang Zhang, Hua Jiang, Jani Sainio, Mohammad Tavakkoli, Aqeel Hussain, Yongping Liao, Esko I. Kauppinen 2019 Chemical Engineering Journal

Catalyst Support Effect on the Activity and Durability of Magnetic Nanoparticles

Fatemeh Davodi, Elisabeth Mühlhausen, Mohammad Tavakkoli, Jani Sainio, Hua Jiang, Bilal Gökce, Galina Marzun, Tanja Kallio 2018 ACS Applied Materials and Interfaces

Straightforward synthesis of nitrogen-doped carbon nanotubes as highly active bifunctional electrocatalysts for full water splitting

Fatemeh Davodi, Mohammad Tavakkoli, Jouko Lahtinen, Tanja Kallio 2017 Journal of Catalysis

Electrochemical Activation of Single-Walled Carbon Nanotubes with Pseudo-Atomic-Scale Platinum for the Hydrogen Evolution Reaction

Mohammad Tavakkoli, Nico Holmberg, Rasmus Kronberg, Hua Jiang, Jani Sainio, Esko Kauppinen, Tanja Kallio, Kari Laasonen 2017 ACS Catalysis

Functionalized Carbon Nanotubes with Ni(II) Bipyridine Complexes as Efficient Catalysts for the Alkaline Oxygen Evolution Reaction

Mohammad Tavakkoli, Magdalena Nosek, Jani Sainio, Fatemeh Davodi, Tanja Kallio, Pekka Joensuu, Kari Laasonen 2017 ACS Catalysis