Enablers Steering Group (ESG)

Enablers Steering Group (ESG)


Enablers Steering Group (ESG)


Ilkka Niemelä, President


Mirella Lähteenmäki, Development Manager for Services


Ilkka Niemelä, President (Chair)
Kristiina Mäkelä, Provost
Sari Antila, Head of Finance, School of Arts, Design and Architecture (Mari Paloheimo)
Timo Korkeamäki, Dean, School of Business (Perttu Kähäri)
Marjo Kettunen, Development Manager, School of Chemical Engineering (Jaana Rich)
Outi Elina Kansanen, Development Manager, School of Electrical Engineering (Petri Hyvönen)
Panu Sainio, Technology Manager, School of Engineering
Matti Kaivola, Vice Dean, School of Science (Marja Niemi)
Marianna Bom, Chief Financial Officer
Ella Bingham, Head of Research Services
Tomi Erho, Head of Innovation Ecosystem Services
Kati Hagros, Chief Digitalisation Officer
Teppo Heiskanen, Director, Advancement and Corporate Engagement
Ville Jokela, Managing Director, Aalto University Campus & Real
Kristiina Kemetter, Head of Legal
Sirkku Linna, Development Director
Jaakko Salavuo, Communications Director
Riitta Silvennoinen, Chief Human Resources Officer
Eija Zitting, Head of Learning Services
Johanna Moisander, Professors’ Council representative
Samuli Vehkomäki, student representative (Joel Himanen)
Tuomas Poutanen, student representative (Emily Johnson)

In addition to the permanent members listed above, the steering group’s meetings may be attended, depending on the meeting agenda, by persons who are responsible for different cross-cutting approaches:

Tuomas Auvinen, Dean, School of Arts, Design and Architecture - Radical creativity (Riikka Mäkikoskela) 
Jouko Lampinen, Dean, School of Science - Entrepreneurial mindset (Kalle Airo)
Ossi Naukkarinen, Vice President, Research - Sustainable solutions (Jussi Impiö)

The chair of the steering group may add more members to the group, if needed. Steering group may invite other experts to participate in its meetings whenever necessary.

Other participants:
Jussi Välimäki (Head of Business Control)
Jutta Heino (HR manager, services)
Seija Piiponniemi-Lahti (Head of Safety and Security)

Key tasks

  • university community, staff and organisational culture
  • long-term campus development programme
  • development of services
  • digitalisation of services
  • IT architecture and information security
  • legal compliance and data protection
  • financial resilience
  • other tasks and matters assigned by the president, the provost or the President's Management Team

Annual clock

According to Aalto University annual clock

Meetings (2021):



See meeting summaries below (requires logging in to aalto.fi)

  • Published:
  • Updated:
URL copied!