Nordic Master in Innovative Sustainable Energy Engineering


Master of Science (Technology).
More information.


120 ECTS

Field of Study:

Technology and Engineering


2 years, full-time


An appropriate Bachelor´s degree or an equivalent qualification.

Language of Instruction:

More information.

Organising school/s:

School of Engineering

Application period:

2017-11-01 - 2018-01-15

Further information:

ISEE website (

ISEE on Facebook (


The Nordic Master in Innovative and Sustainable Energy Engineering (ISEE) is a world class energy education leading to a Master of Science degree.

The Nordic Master in Innovative Sustainable Energy Engineering (ISEE) combines sustainable energy engineering with innovation and entrepreneurship.

The term sustainable energy engineering comprises a wide array of practices, policies and technologies (conventional, renewable and alternative) aimed at providing energy at the lowest possible economic, environmental and social cost. Emphasis is placed on dealing with energy engineering tasks with due consideration of related technical, environmental and socio-economic issues.

Strong emphasis is also put on the innovative and entrepreneurial aspects of the energy society, especially with regard to how existing and new efficiency-improving innovations can be brought to market in different countries. The innovative aspects of the programme are related to both the advanced renewable energy concept in the Nordic countries as well as new businesses in the energy sector.

Study programme

The focus of ISEE is to provide a state-of-the-art education in the fields of conventional and renewable energy sources like conventional and new power generation, solar energy, biomass energy, wind power, and energy utilisation in the built environment by means of economically and environmentally sustainable systems and technologies. The programme is structured as pre-defined study and mobility tracks with associated competence profiles. Each consortium member university – KTH (Sweden), Chalmers (Sweden), NTNU (Norway), DTU (Denmark) and Aalto University (Finland) – has lead responsibility for one track. For more information on each study track, use the links below.

Study track

Partner university
(first year)

Lead university
(second year)

Solar Cell Systems and Materials



System Integration of Wind Power



Heat and Power Engineering

Aalto University


Bio Energy


Aalto University

Energy Systems

Aalto University



Attendants of the 2017 ISEE Winter School at Chalmers University of Technology


The application process for ISEE is administered by the NTNU admission service.

You must submit your application to the NTNU admission service regardless of where you plan to start your studies. You must decide on a study track and a start university before you can submit your application. Please consult the programme webpage for further details regarding the admission process and requirements.

Academic requirements

BSc/BEng degree or equivalent (normally 3–4 years) in mechanical engineering, chemical engineering or equivalent. (In order to obtain equivalent competence, the basic knowledge in mathematics, physics and chemistry must be at the level of BSc/BEng).

Minimum requirements include the following:

  • Mathematics: 20 ECTS including linear algebra, calculus and differential equations
  • Thermodynamics and heat transfer: 5 ECTS
  • Energy & Environment: 5 ECTS
  • Statistics and dynamics: 5 ECTS
  • Fluid mechanics: 5 ECTS
  • Materials science: 5 ECTS

In addition, the applicant must have sufficient qualifications within numerical methods and elementary programming using e.g. MATLAB or a similar programming language.

English language proficiency


  • Paper-based: 580 (written section grade 4.5)
  • Computer-based test: 237 (essay writing grade 4.5)
  • Internet-based test: 92 (written section grade 22)


  • 6.5, no section lower than 5.5 (only IELTS Academic Training accepted)


The selection process for ISEE is based on a total evaluation of the following selection criteria: university, GPA, coursework related to the programme, thesis proposal, relevant working experience and references.

Tuition fees and scholarships

Currently, Aalto University, DTU, KTH and Chalmers charge fees to non-EU/EEA students. Some universities also charge an application fee and some have a compulsory student union fee. Please read more at individual universities' websites:

Contact information

Professor Mika Järvinen
mika.jarvinen [at] aalto [dot] fi

Teaching Research Scientist Loay Saeed
loay.saeed [at] aalto [dot] fi

The administrative coordinator at Aalto University is Planning Officer Börje Helenius
borje.helenius [at] aalto [dot] fi

Page content by: | Last updated: 20.12.2017.