TKK to Reorganise into Four Faculties at the Beginning of 2008


In its meeting on September 3, 2007 the TKK Council decided that the current 12 departments of the university will be reorganised into four faculties. The change took effect on January 1, 2008. The faculties are Faculty of Electronics, Communications and Automation; Faculty of Information and Natural Sciences; Faculty of Engineering and Architecture; Faculty of Chemistry and Materials Sciences.

The four faculties comprise altogether 24 departments and include some of the currently separate institutes. The Council decision on reorganisation enables the university to develop and better meet the national and international challenges of the future.

“The reform improves our competitiveness and use of resources in the future. We strive towards a more international and more competitive TKK”, Rector Matti Pursula explains.


Bookmark and Share